Mpg gone really poor help please

L3WJX

Reaction score
Hello another problem starting from today,I have just had a 6 hour drive with a poor mpg of 25/30 on motorway cost me a lot more than normal,I was seeing 45/55 on way up there 3 days before,what could be causing this I have had it on vagcom and no luck .

At the risk of sounding daft, have you heard any new noises? Maybe the handbrake is not fully disengaging (i.e. needs adjusting), or you have a stuck caliper, which would cause a lot of drag... but you'd probably hear some sort of squealing or rumble if that was the case.

Yh car pulls well and car brakes all seem ok,think it tends to be worse in 6th gear just drops a lot,scanned on vagcom no joy also reset all engine codes by adaption and 00 reset,anything else I could check temp gauge sits at 90c but sometimes drops a bit then comes up again,looked last night at coolant and tool cap of and started ******* out looked like it wasn't circulating but I'm no mechanic,any I e have any ideas let me no x

Just been told could be the head gasket,due to juddering through gears some times more like a flat spot at low revs,smoking exhaust and no temp out of heaters is there a way I can check this,also has a judder on stand still bit rocky,what does this sound like also waterpump don't feel like its recirculating properly but the car does not over heat,

Most garages can check the coolant for the presence of exhaust gas with a kinda sniffer thingy to see if the head gasket has gone.

Didn't fill up at a Sainsbury's did you?
I did the other week and my mpg went out the window, now filled up with Shell good stuff and its back to normal, maybe some crappy fuel?