1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

More questions....sorry

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by McG37, May 12, 2011.

  1. McG37
    Offline

    McG37 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2011]
    I need to replace two front tires on the S3 should I match these to the same manufacturer as the rears (continental sport, i think) or am I ok just putting two new Mich P3's on.

    Also anyone know if this is a new RNS-E or the old one.

    Audi RNS-E MMI S3 A3, DVD GPS, CHROME, MP3 sat nav | eBay UK

    Many Thanks again
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 21, 2014]

  3. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [May 12, 2011]
    I think you'd be perfectly fine to put 2 Michie P3's on the front, matey, they'll probably be a lot more effective than the Conti's! Looks like the old one to me as it has the CD/TV button. The new one has a MEDIA button instead. :)

    Paulie
    #2
  4. brettp
    Offline

    brettp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    2
    [May 12, 2011]
    Yeah you should be fine with the tyres, I think personally I would replace all 4 (bit OCD)

    Paulie is correct that is the older model, the even newer ones have a gloss black surround too.
    #3
  5. McG37
    Offline

    McG37 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2011]
    Last edited: May 12, 2011
    #4
  6. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,163
    Likes Received:
    689
    [May 12, 2011]
    You don't necessary need the black glossy one, but yes the media, my god they are getting cheaper!
    #5
  7. McG37
    Offline

    McG37 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 12, 2011]
    Should I be put off by location -

    Item location: -, Lithuania
    #6
  8. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    [May 13, 2011]
    McG37, IMO I would be put off buying it from Lithuania. I have heard on various forums - including this one - that a lot of car stereos on sale from Eastern Europe are stolen from cars in the Netherlands. I bought a DVD Sat Nav a couple of years ago which was listed on Ebay as being in the UK, however when it arrived it became apparent that it had been sent from Lithuania. When I installed it in my car, the Sat Nav and 30GB HDD worked fine, but it wouldn't play CD's. The Bluetooth phone address book and Sat Nav destination list was full of addresses in Holland and Dutch names. The seller at first told me that the CD player worked perfectly before he sent it out, but when I told him that if he didn't either replace it or give me a refund, he agreed to replace it straight away, so I didn't raise an issue with Ebay. I was then sent another fully functional unit the same and again it was obvious that it had started out its life in the Netherlands. At that point I knew nothing about how my car stereo could potentially have been taken from some poor guy's car! It could be legit Dude, but after hearing from a foreign member on here about the market in stolen car stereos from his country going to Eastern Europe, I definitely wouldn't buy another one from Lithuania. Sorry.

    As N8 says, as long as it has the Media button, it's the MKII RNS-E. The MY11 ones have gloss black surround.

    Paulie :)
    #7

Share This Page