1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Modyfying the brakes?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by imported_trident21, Apr 16, 2005.

  1. imported_trident21
    Offline

    imported_trident21 Guest

    [Apr 16, 2005]
    Has anyone done this? If Im not misstaking the capiler and discs are the same as the S4 B6? Can anyone comfirme this? I would like to find some disc and pads that fits the orginal capiler and let me use the 17" winter wheels!

    I have fint those:
    http://www.ecstuning.com/stage/edpd/page...odel=&engine=V8

    does for examaple Brembo have some discs that fits and can anyone recomend some good pads (A plus would be some that don´t make my rimes look black)
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 1, 2014]

  3. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    What makes you think they're the same? I'm pretty sure they're not.

    Here's a pic of my B6 S4 calipers (front before painting, rear after etc) /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    #2
  4. imported_trident21
    Offline

    imported_trident21 Guest

    [Apr 16, 2005]
    They look the same, and the Disc diameter is the same!
    #3
  5. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    Look the same to me, but sometimes you can't tell off a picture.
    #4
  6. JaminBen
    Offline

    JaminBen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    Trident, what is it you're looking for with the brake upgrade? Better stopping or just better looks?
    #5
  7. imported_trident21
    Offline

    imported_trident21 Guest

    [Apr 16, 2005]
    I was lying if I sad that it was only for better stopping, but the look is not the big issue!
    #6
  8. Cupramax
    Offline

    Cupramax Uber pimp meister

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    I've seen it documented somewhere that the 3.2 uses the old (B5) RS4 front brake set up. Cant remember where it was though...
    #7
  9. DaveS3Turbo
    Offline

    DaveS3Turbo Sepang Blue S3

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    That is correct I think
    #8
  10. imported_trident21
    Offline

    imported_trident21 Guest

    [Apr 16, 2005]
    I thought that the TT 3.2 and the old RS4 has the same capiler a 2 piston one. That is what the Etka says atleast. But the A3 3.2 has another single piston one that looks exactly like the S4 B6 one! But I don´t know what the etka says..
    #9
  11. dummi
    Offline

    dummi smoking a6

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    i don't know if the same, but my stock calipers were able to support 320mm discs they had 2 piston on same side. and fit in the 16 inch rims,

    the hps plus pads are great and the grooved ecs discs are light with good reaction to the pads, and they make a cool humming sound when they rotate /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #10
  12. TDI-line
    Offline

    TDI-line Uber Post Whore

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Messages:
    9,055
    Likes Received:
    37
    [Apr 16, 2005]
    There is a nice article in VW driver this month, where a guy with a R32 upgrades to ECS big brakes, from a porsche cayenne V8.

    His contact was with:

    www.vagtech.co.uk

    www.ecstuning.com
    #11
  13. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,090
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Apr 18, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    There is a nice article in VW driver this month, where a guy with a R32 upgrades to ECS big brakes, from a porsche cayenne V8.

    His contact was with:

    www.vagtech.co.uk

    www.ecstuning.com

    [/ QUOTE ]

    I supplied him with the kit from ECS. We (JBR) are the UK Importer for ECS Tuning.

    Has anyone got a copy that they could scan in?

    RIch
    #12

Share This Page