1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mods which ones + dangers of damage

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by imported_dpo, Oct 26, 2004.

  1. imported_dpo

    imported_dpo Guest

    Hi,

    I am thinking of modding my car (once my head gasket has been looked at) but i want to know what will damage the car and what wont? Can someone guide me??

    Cheers

    Dan
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just get a re-map,then suspension and then brakes.
    The turbo's more likely to blow before the engine does.If you want to stay safe go for a re-map running 1.1-1.2 bar,mine made 267bhp@1 bar does the job.
     
  4. StevieBogan

    StevieBogan Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Ryanc said:
    Just get a re-map,then suspension and then brakes.
    The turbo's more likely to blow before the engine does.If you want to stay safe go for a re-map running 1.1-1.2 bar,mine made 267bhp@1 bar does the job.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Gee's thats alot for 1bar. Mines 1.4 with FMIC & an exhaust and only made 262bhp /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     
  5. imported_dpo

    imported_dpo Guest

    So how much would a remap cost and whats the best remap to go for (1.2bar etc etc) also how much would it cost and where can i get this done?? how long does it take etc.

    Cheers

    dan
     
  6. StephenBogan

    StephenBogan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Ryanc said:
    Thats because your turbo is only running just over 1 bar at max power rpm ie 5800rpm.You will have a shed more torque than me because you are running 1.4bar lower in the range ,boost is proportional to torque so thats why you have 300+lb/t and i only have 263lb/t.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hmmm.. 285lb/ft, does feel strong in the mid range but top end is ****.
     
  7. Ryanc

    Ryanc Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Likes Received:
    0
    well 267 was AMD's figures so take that with a pinch of salt,on my tried and tested dyno it made 244bhp(max boost 1 bar) 243lb/t and 185bhp at the wheels,this was after a 2 hour drive and about 10 dyno runs so it could well have been heatsoaked,a standard new 225 leon cupra r made 216bhp and 203lb/t(max boost 0.95bar).
    I'd love to see some of these claimed 300bhp's on that dyno,revo took of there own cars there and they didn't make anywhere near the claims.
     
  8. sorry to change the subject a little, but what kind of 0-60/0-100 mph times are you lot getting after a remap?
    Interested cos im thinking of getting mind done soon.
     
  9. imported_dpo

    imported_dpo Guest

    How much would it cost for a re-map and where near bristol or carlisle could i get that done?

    Cheers

    Dan
     
  10. imported_dpo

    imported_dpo Guest

    Whats Dyno plot?? Sorry for being stupid?
    Also revo is that a chip you can go into a shop and fit yourself???
    Can someone explain in more detail???

    Cheers

    Dan "I have no Clue" Orchard
     
  11. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Dan Orchard said:
    Whats Dyno plot?? Sorry for being stupid?
    Also revo is that a chip you can go into a shop and fit yourself???
    Can someone explain in more detail???

    Cheers

    Dan "I have no Clue" Orchard

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Dan,

    Dyno Plot is a graph showing your power... rolling road session.

    Revo is a serial program. You plug it into your diagnostic port in the car and then you upload it to the ECU.

    Rich
     
  12. cybrey

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Dan Orchard said:
    Whats Dyno plot?? Sorry for being stupid?


    [/ QUOTE ]
    Its the rolling road results. You get before and after, in theroy a remap done by Jabba / AMD gives you a custom map just for your car / personal taste.

    [ QUOTE ]
    Dan Orchard said:
    Also revo is that a chip you can go into a shop and fit yourself???


    [/ QUOTE ]
    No you can't fit it yourself.. you have to get someone to do it for you .. but I think they're all off the shelf jobs so no customization ? ( not entirely sure though).

     
  13. Whats insurance hike usually after a Remap?

    I'm considering this but the Increase in Policy worries me

    Andy
     
  14. imported_dpo

    imported_dpo Guest

    How much does revo cost and whats the increase of BHP??
    Also where can i get it? or where can i find someone who knows S3's and will do a proper job just a bit worried about them fooking the engine!!!

    Cheers

    Dan Orchard
     
  15. dickys3

    dickys3 Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. imported_dpo

    imported_dpo Guest

    Wheres the ODB2 job thingy port located on an S3???
     
  17. RichA3Turbo

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you!
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Dan Orchard said:
    Wheres the ODB2 job thingy port located on an S3???

    [/ QUOTE ]

    1999>2000MY is under the ashtray(had a little blanking plate over it). 2001> is under the steering column to the right...

    Rich
     

Share This Page