1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MK2 RNSE CD & AMI?

Discussion in 'Satellite Navigation' started by Steve_B, Sep 16, 2013.

  1. Steve_B
    Offline

    Steve_B Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 16, 2013]
    From much searching/reading it is suggested it is possible to have CD or AMI with the MK2 but not both together due to pin duplication? - I currently have a CD changer, when I go into media it shows the 6 CD's + initialising AMI which would suggest it is possible to have both?


    I guess I could try but not had the time - will any other format (other than MP3) play from the SD cards? ALAC, FLAC etc?

    many thanks
    -Steve
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 18, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 16, 2013]
    No, what the issue is, the ami goes in the socket where the changer would, cd & ami do not use the same wires.
    #2
  4. s8craig
    Offline

    s8craig Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,562
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Sep 16, 2013]
    I've done it to two RS6 cars with RNS-E MK2, used the 6 CD changer in the boot and fitted an AMI into the glovebox.
    #3
  5. Steve_B
    Offline

    Steve_B Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 16, 2013]

    Apols for the delay... very many thanks...

    Will an 8T0-305-785A CAN AMI work with an RNSE-MK2? read a long US thread on AMI, the 8TO is mentioned though lost track in all the posts what worked and what didnt...

    I am guessing it is the same as the 8P0 just from another model?

    All the best
    -Steve
    #4
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 16, 2013]
    The 8T0 ami will not work with an rns-e.
    #5
  7. Steve_B
    Offline

    Steve_B Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 16, 2013]
    Perfect, thank you.

    Such similar part nos...
    #6
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Oct 16, 2013]
    Yeah identical looking aswell :)
    #7
  9. Quattro mad
    Offline

    Quattro mad New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2014]
    Please Clarify.
    1. I am going to replace my RNSe mk1 with a RNS-e Mk 2 in my 2003 A4 B6. Is it a straight swap regarding the wiring & coding.
    2. I want retain my cd changer & add an AMI using the retrokit designed for the RNS-e Mk 2. I understand from an earlier post that both the CD & AMI use the same connection on the RNS-e Mk2 but different pins. What is the best way to overcome this & does it involve purchasing an additional wiring harness?
    3. Once fitted, does the AMI need to be coded?
    4. Finally, I have modified the microphone wiring so it is routed via the RNS-e with my existing RNS-e, ready for SDS. With the RNS-e mk2 installed will the SDS automatically work or does the firmware need to be loaded as with the RNS-e Mk1.
    Answers Much Appreciated
    #8
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 11, 2014]
    You need specifically a mk2 SDS unit, its not like the mk1 where its a hack as such.

    We supply/fit all these systems if interested :)
    #9

Share This Page