1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MK1 TT

Discussion in 'TT/TT-S/TT-RS Forum' started by Trig0r, Jun 4, 2014.

  1. Trig0r
    Offline

    Trig0r Pretend Hairdresser

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    14
    Birds TT has developed a fault, put the indicators on they flash a few times then stay on, hazards works but indicators dont...

    relay or new indicator stalk?
    #1
  2. TYphoon GB
    Offline

    TYphoon GB Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    14
    #2
  3. Trig0r
    Offline

    Trig0r Pretend Hairdresser

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    14
    But the hazards work, its the indicators that dont, well, they flash a few times then just stay on, hazards work as they should and the lights flash when the car is locked from the fob..
    #3
  4. dzTT
    Offline

    dzTT Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    25
    Sounds like the relay part in the Hazard switch. Sounds pretty much the same as the issue I had. Think Audi take about £180 for parts only so I'd stay away from them.
    #4
  5. TYphoon GB
    Offline

    TYphoon GB Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    14
    What he said....almost certain....known issue.....buy part from TPS and follow Wak's instructions...

    The Audi TT Forum :: View topic - Indicator problem!
    #5
  6. Trig0r
    Offline

    Trig0r Pretend Hairdresser

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ahhh, so the Hazard relay actually has the indicator relay in it as well, I thought it might have been part of the stalk base.

    I'll pop it out later and see if I can clean it up, its an 04 car so might not be possible to strip it down, we'll see...


    Cheers
    #6
  7. craigynett
    Offline

    craigynett Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    11
    Hazard button/relay is a common TT fault. I've done a few & it's a simple enough job
    #7
  8. kmantripp
    Offline

    kmantripp New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had this problem on my TT and also A6 C5, it can be the stalk switch as well. It is a common problem.
    #8
  9. Allmine
    Offline

    Allmine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2013
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    1
    It's a common issue with the stalk it self so be careful that your not buying a useless part like the hazard switch!!! :-/
    #9
  10. Trig0r
    Offline

    Trig0r Pretend Hairdresser

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    14
    Just as an update, it was the hazard switch/relay bit, took it out but its a sealed unit, tapped it a few times and its fine now :D

    However I didnt clip it in place properly so when I put the thing back in, clipped the stereo in and pressed the hazard button it shot into the back of its little hole lol...

    I really do need to buy some stereo keys lol
    #10
  11. johnsmith989
    Offline

    johnsmith989 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its a fault with your ride's electronics and i guess you can go for a replacement,At the moment you should go for a professional for checking the fault out or may be some kinda repairing can help you mate.You better have it fixed soon because in foggy days it can cause problem with your drive which can be inappropriate.
    #11

Share This Page