1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missing Radar detector thingy?

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by scrofts007, Dec 2, 2013.

  1. Leeber
    Offline

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    I don't think Silky_S3 ordered the DA pack though and he got the round one too.

    I reckon that either everyone got the round one up until a certain build date, and then after that they started fitting the square one to cars that didn't have the DA pack spec'd OR that they fit the round ones to all cars until stocks run low in which case they pilfer stock from the VW plant and fit them to the non-DA spec'd cars so as not to hold up the production line. Every time we try and establish exactly what sort of logic dictates who gets which sensor someone else pops up with an example that's proves it wrong. My head is starting to hurt!

    In any case, as you say, who's going to use it above 100mph in this country anyway? Also the cost of changing them over is about 3-4 times the cost of the original option (?) so I can't see anyone doing that purely for cosmetic reasons.
    #81
  2. Leeber
    Offline

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Sure but the side assist + lane assist option doesn't.
    #82
  3. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    yes but your car was built several months ago I guess

    early 2013 all A3 had the round sensor, then audi decided to get the same sensor as the one from the golf (flat) if the car didn't have driver assistance pack because it was cheaper to buy from Bosch and anyway, if the car didn't have the driver assistance pack, the driver would not be able to use the radar at more than 100 mph even if the radar was capable of more.

    i can quote myself :

    #83
  4. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Interestingly, seems I can recreate my spec with the drivers assist pack now, BUT it's £345 more expensive than selecting all the components individually - the only difference being that my ACC 'only' goes up to 100mph!
    #84
  5. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Maybe if I go in and complain about it they'll alter mine to work up to the higher speeds?
    #85
  6. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    It may be possible but not sure they would know how to do it :(
    #86
  7. Leeber
    Offline

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    So Silky's car was also an end of October build (BW44), yet he has the old sensor despite not having spec'd the DA pack. Perhaps this was around the changeover date.
    #87
  8. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Was only joking... I don't need (or want) my CC to go that high! If I'm ever driving that fast I want to be in full control at all times!
    #88
  9. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    well cool thing you can do with the ACC is actually follow someone at a distance quite well.
    Tried once at 110 mph to follow an Audi A6 and worked nicely. :ninja:
    #89
  10. mjcourtney
    Offline

    mjcourtney Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    244
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    A friend is picking up his new Golf GTI in a few weeks, and his will come with a flat ACC cover:
    golf-acc.jpg

    Whereas other Golf's (non-GTI) have the dome:

    golf-acc-2.jpg

    It must be something to do with equipment / options as to whether you get dome or flat. But either way, the flat somehow looks better on the GTI than it does on the A3.
    #90
  11. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Yep, but I don't drive that fast, nor do I think it's in any way sensible on UK roads. Somewhere where they look after the road surface better and clear up debris on the road more effectively, perhaps... but somewhere I could get a blowout at 100mph (pretty much dead if that happens) by a bit of debris on the road? No way.
    #91
  12. AJB
    Offline

    AJB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    I suspect it's this. All the Golfs and A3s I've seen until recently have the round sensor. I wonder if the higher speed with the DA pack was to do with the camera for extra information into the system, or just paying for more advanced software.

    Bosch have now introduced a cheaper sensor which works fine upto the speeds allowed without the DA pack:
    Audi and VW now fit the flat sensor where they weren't getting any benefit from the round one (eg without DA pack so there's no higher speed running anyway), reserving the round one for cars specced in such a way that they need it.

    I could be wrong though! Maybe someone's got another example to disprove that theory too!
    #92
  13. AJB
    Offline

    AJB Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    ACC is an option in its own right - you don't get it as standard or as part of a pack - unless it's all changed since I ordered mine. The comfort pack comes with regular cruise control, but not ACC of any sort.
    #93
  14. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    308
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    I can confirm I only have ACC (up to 100mph) no other drivers aids.

    Long live the dome!
    #94
  15. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Comfort pack comes with either cruise control or ACC, and ACC is part of the driver assist pack.
    #95
  16. the_lecht_rocks
    Offline

    the_lecht_rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    263
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    if you have ACC i believe the dome is fitted.
    #96
  17. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    432
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Well my order was locked last night so I've not got the DA pack but have ordered ACC with lane assist, so we'll see what sensor I get then!!
    #97
  18. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,525
    Likes Received:
    576
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    Interestingly the update to ETKA which I installed today now only shows the rectangular radar sensor version. The illustration of the domed version has been deleted.

    I'm test driving two Golfs on Thursday, an SE and a GT. Both of these come with the ACC as standard so I will have to remember to have a look at the radar sensor on each one to see which type is fitted.
    #98
  19. snowfree52
    Offline

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    124
    [Dec 3, 2013]
    it will be the flat one if the car are brand new. the golfonly has ACC up to 150kmh so there is no point in the round one
    #99
  20. Sootchucker
    Offline

    Sootchucker Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    My Golf 7 GTD has ACC as standard and has the flat radar camera. All MK7 Golfs from about WK44 onwards are now arriving with the flat sensor as mentioned, with the domed one being deleted.
  21. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,525
    Likes Received:
    576
    [Dec 5, 2013]
    I drove two Golf VIIs today. One was an existing SE demonstrator and it had the domed radar sensor. The other one only arrived a few days ago and as the GT demonstrator they were going to let me drive had been sold they let me take out this new one on trade plates. It had the rectangular radar sensor. I must say personally I think the domed sensor looks a lot better than the hole in the grill rectangular version.
    cemerson likes this.
  22. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    Well this follows no regular pattern.

    Wk.11 2014 build, ACC only (S-tronic) - no other driver assist options -

    Dome Sensor fitted on my car !!
  23. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,525
    Likes Received:
    576
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    So it seems - mine was build week 12, ACC + s-tronic and no other driver assist options - flat radar sensor on mine.
  24. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    Another possible hypothesis then.....

    Dome Radar Sensor always fitted to S3's regardless, if ACC is specified (ignoring if other Driver Assist options are fitted) ?
  25. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    Maybe they are both in the same parts bin and they pick one at random every time!
  26. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,525
    Likes Received:
    576
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    According to ETKA there are currently four different Radar sensors used on the A3/S3 range according to the other systems fitted. The are two ranges for the sensors 160m and 250m. The 250m range version is the domed version, all the other flat front versions. It seems that the S3 is fitted with the 250m version and all other with one of the 160m version. Audi obviously think those who drive the S3 need more warning that there is something in front than those of use who drive a A3 :):):)
  27. Itguy
    Offline

    Itguy Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    432
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    Ha! that's amusing.

    Interestingly though, I have the domed version but cannot set my ACC higher than 100mph (as I don't have the assistance pack but do have lane assist camera etc).

    I assume that the range of my domed version is cut short due to that to 160m rather than 250m.

    When driving along I've been trying to judge at what kind of distance my radar starts to pick something up in the distance and I'd say it was more like 160m than 250m - difficult to judge though really.
  28. cemerson
    Offline

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    3,539
    Likes Received:
    726
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    I'm the same - I have the domed version but can't set it above 100mph (not that I ever want or need to!)
  29. Dylock
    Offline

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    63
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    I should be getting my new s3 in the next couple of weeks which has acc. Sounds like it will have dome but we shall see
  30. Leeber
    Offline

    Leeber Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    96
    [Apr 17, 2014]
    I have the DA pack but am only able to use it up to 100 mph. Anyone else had this?
  31. ChrisJay
    Offline

    ChrisJay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    [May 25, 2014]
    My S Line A3 was delivered on Friday (23rd May) and it has the flat plate version. Works perfectly, but I must say that I prefer the look of the dome cover. Somehow the plate I have looks a bit unfinished, needs a surround to it or something to complete the look...
  32. the_lecht_rocks
    Offline

    the_lecht_rocks Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    263
    [May 26, 2014]
    i only have ACC, no DA as such and my S3 SB came with dome.
  33. ChrisJay
    Offline

    ChrisJay Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2014
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    11
    [May 26, 2014]
    Me too, except mine's an S Lime A3 SB. All seems pretty random as to whether you get a domed version or the newer plate, confusing!
  34. Dylock
    Offline

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    63
    [May 26, 2014]
    S3 delivered 3 weeks ago with dome. Just acc fitted
  35. RossR
    Online

    RossR Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2013
    Messages:
    490
    Likes Received:
    119
    [May 27, 2014]
    A3 with DA pack delivered last September. Got the domed sensor. Only able to set the speed up to 100mph.

    I prefer the aesthetics of the dome, and I like the idea of longer range. Not bothered about being able to set cruise to over 100mph.
  36. The Challinor
    Offline

    The Challinor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    350
    [May 28, 2014]
    Soooo has a S3 ever come with flat sensor or always dome?
  37. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    176
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Was this ever finally resolved? I see that the extended speed with the DA package has gone from the brochure and configurator from MY15 so assume that ALL radar-equipped A3/S3 come with the flat lens? Is that correct?

    An associated question - I have ordered the DA package and am unsure what this feature actually does?

    Front Assist incl. city automatic emergency braking for ACC high

    What does the "city automatic emergency braking" do?
  38. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    glospete likes this.
  39. glospete
    Offline

    glospete Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2013
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    176
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    Veeeight, I didn't order Pre-Sense Basic so have DA and ACC. The first post in the thread you pointed me at talks about Pre-Sense.

    Sorry to be thick but so to be clear am I right that:

    1. If I'm travelling below 18mph the car will autonomously brake to a halt even if I don't do anything?
    2. If I'm travelling above 18mph and don't see the obstruction ahead then 30% braking is applied but if I don't press the pedal the car will not brake to a stop? So I will crash or once I get to 18mph will it then autonomously stop me?
    3. If I'm travelling above 18mph and I react to the obstruction ahead and press the brake pedal then the system will add whatever brake pressure is required to prevent me crashing into the obstruction?

    Have I missed anything (probably!)
  40. veeeight
    Offline

    veeeight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,272
    Likes Received:
    1,031
    [Jul 9, 2014]
    If you order ACC (or DA (Option PCE)), Pre-Sense Front (not Pre-Sense Basic) will come automatically with the car/that option. Free.

    Pre-Sense Front (Audi) = City Emergency Braking (VW)


    1. Yes
    2. If you're travelling above 18mph, and approach an obstruction, the DIS will display a red triangle, and you will hear a beep. If you still do nothing, the brakes will "jolt" to wake you up. If you still don't do anything the system will partially brake (30%) to reduce the impact, if you still do nothing, you will crash.
    3. Yes, but only if the DIS alert and braking jolt has already taken place
    3a. It's quite possible that another safety feature, EBA (Emergency Brake Assist) will detect that you're trying to apply full pressure in an emergency, so will apply full pressure for you anyway


    Hope you're going to make a video of the testing :)
    glospete likes this.

Share This Page