1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Missing cover

Stu.Audi Feb 7, 2014

  1. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
    It inside the glovebox it a large one think it use to be cd changec as since I brought gne car it ho,e in no cover whete can I find it as cant see on ebay

    Cheers
     
  2. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User quattro Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group S-line owners group

    3,723
    649
    113
    it cd changer hole, cannot buy cover.
     
  3. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
    Aw bugger as eye sore so my a standard HU no bose can cd changed fit it in ??
     
  4. hades-

    hades- Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    9,481
    646
    113
    post a picture
     
    Stu.Audi likes this.
  5. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
    Will do soon
     
  6. DieselJake

    DieselJake Well-Known Member

    2,464
    515
    113
    Drop us a pm if that gap is wanted to be filled with a changer :icon_thumright:
     
    Stu.Audi likes this.
  7. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
  8. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
  9. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator TFSI Owners Group Team V6 Gold Supporter Team Tornado Audi S4 quattro Black Edition s tronic

    8,273
    2,788
    113
    Yes, that is the slot for a CD changer. There is no cover for it.
     
  10. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
    Can u tell if cd changed can work on my hu
     
  11. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator TFSI Owners Group Team V6 Gold Supporter Team Tornado Audi S4 quattro Black Edition s tronic

    8,273
    2,788
    113
    I can't for certain, but I'm sure someone can. By the way, what are you using to type on?
     
  12. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
    Was on mobile but now am on tabs3
    My sister got the same car as mine her heater panel on the bottom mine is middle cos her a double din bose system I dont have bose so can I move the heater panel bottom or cant ? So in future I can upgrade to double din ??

    Just a head up am deaf but can hear so sonetimes my english ai t that good
     
  13. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator TFSI Owners Group Team V6 Gold Supporter Team Tornado Audi S4 quattro Black Edition s tronic

    8,273
    2,788
    113
    Fair dos, Stu. It might be possible to hook up a changer to your existing head unit, or maybe some thing else like a iPhone interface, but still located in the glovebox slot. Or a conversion to double DIN, but that is obviously more of a faff. Well worth it to change to the Audi RNS-E navigation.

    The best person to ask about the options is forum member NHN. Send him a private message.
     
    Stu.Audi likes this.
  14. Stu.Audi

    Stu.Audi Member

    232
    21
    18
    Cheers cant it tag him on here ?? If no I then pm him
    Cheers
     
  15. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member VCDS Map User quattro Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group S-line owners group

    3,723
    649
    113
    Yes a CD-Changer will work with your HU, and you may have the cabling for the CD-Changer behind the glovebox, unless some has fitted a CD-Changer glovebox into your car at some point.
     
  16. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator TFSI Owners Group Team V6 Gold Supporter Team Tornado Audi S4 quattro Black Edition s tronic

    8,273
    2,788
    113
    That could be it. The glovebox on my old B6 suffered the broken hinge, and I didn't have the skill to fix it. So I bought a new one from eBay for half the dealer price. When it arrived, turned out it was the CD changer version. I fitted it anyway, and used the slot to house my owner's manual folder.
     
  17. steve wallace

    steve wallace Member

    84
    26
    18
    just buy a new glove box off ebay/local breakers
    job sorted
     
  18. DieselJake

    DieselJake Well-Known Member

    2,464
    515
    113
    Would have an empty space regardless of which glove box though :shrug: not trying to plug this changer too hard but it will definitely work as it's from the exact same headunit.
     
  19. steve wallace

    steve wallace Member

    84
    26
    18
    Yes but he wouldn't have a hole in the back of the glovebox if it was replaced
     
  20. DieselJake

    DieselJake Well-Known Member

    2,464
    515
    113
    They're all the same :shrug: so he would.
     
  21. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator TFSI Owners Group Team V6 Gold Supporter Team Tornado Audi S4 quattro Black Edition s tronic

    8,273
    2,788
    113
    Not so, Jake. The non-changer glovebox is closed at the back so what you have is a storage cubby. A changer glovebox without a changer is open at the back. In my case, that meant I could slide the manual folder all the way in (and a little bit out the other side) so the glovebox door would close.
     
  22. DieselJake

    DieselJake Well-Known Member

    2,464
    515
    113
    This glovebox is a myth :noway:












    ... haha ok I'll stand corrected, have never seen said glovebox though.
     
    jdp1962 likes this.

Share This Page