1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MFSW install Guide?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Pablo1, Sep 27, 2011.

  1. Pablo1
    Offline

    Pablo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guy's i'm new to the forum but like many people have been browing and reading-up for months.

    I was hoping there was a guide for retro fitting MFSW but other than lots of posts regarding parts,
    i can't find anything....

    I have an A3 8P with the wrong steering ecu but I have now bought the correct ECU to fit along with
    the new MFSW and airbag cable. No doubt i'll figure it out but i'd rather read a guide first so i don't
    break anything! lol

    If anybody can suggest a guide from somewhere or send a few pointers my way it would be appreciated.

    Cheers Guys! :)
    #1
  2. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    There isn't a MFSW guide that I know of but there are a few Cruise Control guides kicking around which involve the same steps.
    #2
  3. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    Pablo.. How did you find out which ecu you required? Also a Guide is a brilliant idea!
    #3
  4. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    You need a Highline Steering ECU with the prefix 8P0 (8P being the chassis for the A3)

    Only Highline ECU's for the A3 that I know of are 8P0 953 549 F & 8P0 953 549 K
    #4
  5. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have a highline ecu, but no multi function.. It a straight swap?
    #5
  6. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    It is indeed, providing the Highline ECU is prefixed with 8P0.

    Only parts you'll need is the MFSW itself and the new Airbag harness, which will allow you to plug in the MFSW, this part is about £20 from the dealers. You'll also need to code the MFSW in the Steering Wheel-16 channel and Radio-56 channel to accept the MFSW.
    #6
  7. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    You wouldn't have a part number for the Airbag harness would you? This goes for the S3 multi function wheel aswell as the standard multi function wheel?
    #7
  8. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Heres the part number for the Airbag harness: 8P0 971 589 Q

    Make sure you disconnect the battery on install ;)
    #8
  9. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    Thanking you!! :salute:
    #9
  10. Shane.
    Offline

    Shane. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    2
    Have you checked you have the correct slipring?
    #10
  11. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    Well spotted Shane. If you don't know what slipring you have post your current ECU you have installed and I'll be able to tell you if you need it changing. This is aimed towards Pablo, there will be no need for Rob to check as having a Highline ECU his slipring will be fine.
    #11
  12. Shane.
    Offline

    Shane. Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    504
    Likes Received:
    2
    If not I have a multifunction slipring spare for sale (bought by mistake, for some reason I thought mine was wrong but it wasn't)
    #12
  13. Pablo1
    Offline

    Pablo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for the advice everybody!
    jb0o: i will get this info for you... skipping forward do you know if i can use my copy of VCDS-lite to change the two module codes after the install?
    #13
  14. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    104
    I dont think you'll be able to change any coding with VCDS Lite
    #14
  15. Pablo1
    Offline

    Pablo1 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thought as much, fortunately one of my friends has the full version. Again thank you for your help.
    Maybe a guide will come along at some point... lol :D
    #15

Share This Page