1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mercedes MAF Sensor for a 110 TDI... is it better??

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by AmanDosangh, Mar 28, 2014.

  1. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone not sure if this has been discussed much on here, but my MAF is dead on my A3 110 TDI :banghead: doing a quick little google search found some people have used a MAF from a Mercedes CDI as they say its cheaper and runs better?? anyone got any experience of this and do they fit straight on?? nearly all of the searches i did were dated the early 2000's can someone help me out on where to get one and how much they may be now and do they work better?

    thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18,257
    Likes Received:
    2,416
    The ECU is calibrated to the MAF sensor designed for the car... buy the correct one for the car is my advice

    <tuffty/>
     
  4. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i was thinking! but the OEM Bosch ones are so expensive.... i know they say you get what you pay for.. but will the cheaper MAF's be just as good? on Carparts4less they have the Bosch £62 Peirburg £110 MasterPro £39?
     
  5. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    It used to be the 'in thing' to fit the merc maf to the TDI, or the pierburg aftermarket maf... While they are a little more robust than the Bosch hot wire maf, they do not read correctly across the rev range.

    The TDI has no lambda, and relies entirely on the MAF to determine fuelling so it's important you use the correct one.

    The newer Bosch MAF for the TDI is more reliable than the earlier ones were, just steer well clear of oiled air filters, you will gain no power by fitting one to the TDI. In fact you slowly loose power as the oil released coats the MAF element and gradually reduces the fuel injected.
     
  6. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey JimS3 thanks for your reply. i will look into it a little more. see if i can find a Bosch one on ebay for less then the £59 GSF want haha...(broke at the moment) im also getting limp mode too, reckon changing my MAF could sort that?
     
  7. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    Possible, but limp mode on these is usually due to a vacuum leak to the turbo actuator or sticking VNT turbo mechanism. The usual fault code is 'pressure control deviation'.

    Get the fault codes read and that will give you more to go on.

    What makes you think your MAF is dead?
     
  8. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0

    I have changed all the vacuum pipes as a few of them did have holes in... Gonna check my actuator when i get a chance and see if sticky vains could be the issue!

    I tested my maf by running the car and then disconnecting the maf, there was no difference at all..my car has a slight rough idle and tends to kick alot of smoke on start up and runs rich on idle.

    Also had a vagcom readout awhile ago and the fault code i got was P1557 pressure control limit exceeded.
     
  9. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
    Sounds like the classic sticking vain problem.

    I would highly recommend getting the free version of VCDS (vag com) and a generic ebay cable if you plan on keeping the car a while. Saves so much guess work and expense.

    With vag com you can test the MAF in the measuring blocks. On your engine you should be looking for around 285 mg/st at idle and 850 mg/st at full boost. If it reads substantially lower than this, or defaults to the fail safe permanent 550 mg/st then the MAF needs replacing.
     
  10. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will a faulty MAF come up on the VagCom too or will i just know from the readouts.. How do i get a free copy of vagcom? Does it run off my laptop? And which cable is it on ebay?

    Seeing as there was no change in the running of my engine once the maf was disconnected.. Does this not show that the MAF is not working? Sorry to keep bothering you bit of a newby to all this
     
  11. JimS3

    JimS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2013
    Messages:
    736
    Likes Received:
    72
  12. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
  13. epox

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    50
    Iirc, works best with xp. Cable that is, install driver for cable first .

    Install vcds lite reboot connect cable and start vcds.

    Check ur com ports on the computer(Google if not sure) I think vcds needs cable to be on com ports 1, 2 or 3

    Cheers mark
     
  14. AmanDosangh

    AmanDosangh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey buddy! iv plugged the cable into my laptop and the driver has installed fine. im using windows 7 could that be the issue?
    and i tried using port 3, maybe il try the other 2 ports i have too. see how it goes!

    thanks
     
  15. epox

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    50

Share This Page