meguiar's polish advise.

SteveS

S6 avant
Reaction score
Ive been using autoglym stuff for ages now but everyone seems to rate meguiars better. they seem to do different types, gold class, NXT tech wax? what should i buy for a really nice lasting shine?

Why not give it a go asking on the 'Ask a professional detailer thread' in the detailing forum ???

i put 2 coats of super resin on followed by 2 coats of extra gloss protection the other day but after one 5 mile trip in the rain the water is'nt beading off anymore. just wondered if there was anything better out there.

Meguiars is the same as i got the same result polished it and within a few miles it stopped beading.. Salt on the roads doesnt help matters. I find Meguiars doesnt bead much compared to Autoglym. Also power washers are a no no as it usually takes the polish off.

Shouldn't you not use a hard wax after you've used something like SRP. I'm no expert by any means but I've had my car detailed recently and the water still beads 2 weeks later. If I can find the reciept I'll add what was done.

Ok, I've dug out the reciept and here's what was done;

Full Wash (Meguiars Gold Class Shampoo)
Full Clay (Pinnacle Ultimate Clay Bar & Lube)
Full Wash & Dry (Meguiars Gold Class Shampoo)
Full Paint Clean (Meguiars Paint Cleaner)
Full Swirl Removal Stage 1 (Poorboys SSR2)
Full Swirl Removal Stage 2 (Poorboys SSR1)
Full Polish (Meguiars Gold Class Polish)
Full Glaze & Seal (Clearkote Vanilla Moose)
Full Wax (Harly Brazilian Carnuba Wax)
Tyre Dressing (Turtle Wax Wet Look)

It wasn't until I got it back, that I realised how neglected it had been. I wish I had taken some before pics so I could compare them to the afters.

I presume its the Carnuba Wax that results in the car beading so well though.

I have no problems after a few weeks using the NXT, i am under the impression, that light coloured cars use gold class, and darker NXT.

At least thats what the rep said

Sinny71 said: