1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mechatronic Failure (Need more ideas)

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by CHRISBURNS75, Nov 28, 2013.

  1. CHRISBURNS75
    Offline

    CHRISBURNS75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    Hi ,
    As title suggests.
    I have owned this A3 3.2 V6 (2005)for Just a month.I bought it as it drove really well ,engine sounded great and I liked the DSG as it suited my commute (fast in the morning and traffic jams in the evening).

    Anyway One owner, full (VAG) service history I listened to the timing belt and no faults on a scanner I thought I was on to a winner.
    It was a private sale.

    Month down the line the Mechatronic unit failed.
    AUdi says £2500 and no goodwill due to the age of the car and VAG service is not the same as AUDI history so no help.

    No problem I though

    I got the mechatronic unit out through local audi specialist and sent it to ECUTESTING.com for repair £250

    Got the bad news today.
    Fault is not repairable ECU corrupt and cant be changed also they recomend only Audi dealer can replace as needs to be matched to car.
    THey say picking up a second hand unit and fitting it would not work.

    Does anyone else here have any other ideas ?
    I may have to give in to the stealers.I have had long conversations with AUDI uk customers services and they say they cannot reverse any decision on goodwill as the Service manager at the garage has the whole say nowadays.

    There is a place in Finland that aslo say they recondition but he has not answered my emails yet.

    Gutted as I really like the car
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. Yannis
    Offline

    Yannis Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    Were there any signs of impending failure or did it just flash at you?
    #2
  4. CHRISBURNS75
    Offline

    CHRISBURNS75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    There was one time a few weeks ago I lost drive and the PRDS lights flashed at me .I resarted the engine and it was fine.
    I had had no shuddering or kangaroo like other people have had.
    When it failed completly there was no flashing lights
    #3
  5. MrLapou
    Offline

    MrLapou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    118
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    #4
  6. OVRA3
    Offline

    OVRA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    79
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    #5
  7. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    104
  8. CHRISBURNS75
    Offline

    CHRISBURNS75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    #7
  9. VAG_BADGER
    Offline

    VAG_BADGER Ricers in the rear view!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Nov 28, 2013]
    ECU testing gave me the same chat when I sent them an ECU from a mercedes. Dealer on,y etc etc but sent it to ECU doctor and did it no problem.

    Also worth noting I just changed the mechatronic unit in a 2004 Audi A3 TDI and it worked perfect straight away. Ran all the adaptations on VCDS, new oil & filter and it's never driven as good! What exactly happened, usually one of the solenoids stick and it sticks in gear? Can be bought separate also.
    #8
  10. Autograph Cars
    Offline

    Autograph Cars Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Nov 29, 2013]
    If ECU Testing have told you the Mechatronic ECU is corrupt then they are probably right, this can happen. You can definitely swap it for a second hand unit as long as they are the same hardware numbers and similar software versions. We usually read out the software from the existing faulty one to see what version it is and then program that into another Mechatronic with similar software. Sometime you don't even have to do that as long as they are close enough, as long as they are similar then it will work. You will have to get a Mechatronic from a 3.2 though, they are different to the 2.0T and the TDi ones.

    As BADGER says above, then run all adaptations with VCDS after an oil and filter change and away you go.
    #9
  11. CHRISBURNS75
    Offline

    CHRISBURNS75 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 30, 2013]
    Thanks for all the suggestions but this has been 2 weeks running now and the cost of another 2 without possible resolution was wearing me thin.
    I had decided to just give in to Audi UK and let them fix the car at teh £2400 so phoned them up and the smarmy arse of a Service manager said they would not touch my car as I have had the Mechatronic removed by another garage and he would not replace the part.
    Fortunately the original garage is confident to do the replacement and coding.I will save a little money but only have 12 months garentee on the part.

    Edinburgh Audi you will never get my business ever again!! I will travel to the other end of Britain before I go there again
    #10
  12. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,080
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Nov 30, 2013]
    My son swears by Perth Audi: he goes there even though he lives near Elgin!
    #11
  13. Autograph Cars
    Offline

    Autograph Cars Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2011
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Dec 1, 2013]
    Well good luck what ever you end up doing! If you get stuck just give us a shout.
    #12

Share This Page