1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MAP Sensor part of MAF?

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by fran-s3, Mar 3, 2008.

  1. fran-s3

    fran-s3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Chaps!

    Question: My cars been running really rough recently - and total loss of power like driving a 1.8 N/A... The turbo seems non existent!

    Engine light has come on, and after I plugged it into VAG - the fault said it was a MAP sensor at fault and was getting irregular timings? Booked it in to to a vw/audi 'specialist' who said the MAP sensor is actually part of the MAF sensor? Is this bull, or is that true? I thought they were seperate parts.... Although I did unplug the MAF and the car ran better!

    Any advice appreciated! It's a 2001 S3.

    Cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. macca

    macca Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am not an expert but i thought the map sensor was on the inlet manifold, i can't see how it can be part of the MAF as it needs to measure boost. as the maf isn't on the pressurised part of the intake i don't see how it can do it.

    as i say, i'm not an expert and could be wrong.
     
  4. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with Macca. The MAP is Mass Air Pressure and measures, well, preassure!!

    Its sits just before the throttle body i think.

    Can you rememver the code you got Fran?
     
  5. fran-s3

    fran-s3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the reply!

    Hmm interesting so there two seperate components! I dont actually, the VAG-COM guy told me that it was saying the MAP sensor reading weren't as expected... Which could exaplain why I have no boost!

    Hmm well booked in for thurs so we shall see.. I want my turbo back!!!!
     
  6. Broken Byzan

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User Audi A4 quattro

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    13,021
    Likes Received:
    395
    The MAP is mounted on the SMIC iirc, well it is on an A4 anyway
     
  7. fran-s3

    fran-s3 Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    2
    Yay! Back from the garage! Basically I had a new cam belt fitted and it was done incorrectly the timing was out and needed a new one as it started to break up!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (took it to a different garage this time!)

    Also water pump was failing to as a result so after these were replaced (showed me it, was hardly turning as its supposed to!) the car is now back to normal, wow turbo really kicks in now! SO lucky I didn't use it once the light came on, guy said I could of easily done £1000's worth of damage if waterpump had failed or cam!

    So my car was proper screwed as the belt was barely on the tensioner apparently! No faults yet and one happy chappy again! No more errors have come up, lesson learnt - never use rubbish mechanics!

    Cheers for the advice chaps! :D
     
  8. Longman

    Longman vassdignostics.co.uk
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad to hear it Fran.... That was damn lucky.... I have been reading a thread about a cam belt snap on SCN.... Bloody horrible pictures!!

    You were lucky...
     

Share This Page