1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Map or no map ? That is the question ...

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by mikes3, Jan 23, 2011.

  1. mikes3
    Offline

    mikes3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    Evenin all.

    Been doin some data logging this weekend, gettin to grips with VCDS. Anyway, I bought my 2003 S3 a couple of years ago now, and bought it private from some guy in Yorkshire. He told me it was completely standard, no maps, no engine mods etc etc.

    Well, I've done a few test runs this weekend, and every time I have managed to log 209/210 g/s air mass @ 6000 rpm in 3rd & 4th gears. Multiply that by 1.25 and I get around the 260bhp mark (I know this is a rough estimate, based on everything else in the engine being up to scratch). So my question is how do I tell if it has had a remap ? And, which code is on it ? Is there a way to revert back to the standard map if I wanted to ?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. jcs356
    Online

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,684
    Likes Received:
    36
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    A rolling road run will tell you the output for sure. If you hook up to any of the VW/Audi/Seat/Skoda forums RR day you should get a couple of runs for £30 or so.

    If it is chipped, no idea if you can tell which code it is.
    #2
  4. dany2k
    Offline

    dany2k Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    260 would point to a stage 1 re-map on a 225 bam. you seem fairly local-ish to the north-west, get in touch with jason @ more-bhp.com about getting your car back to standard map if that's what you want. he's charging £175.00 for a re-map: probably a lot less to de-map(?) it.
    #3
  5. mikes3
    Offline

    mikes3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    Well, my intention was to get the thing mapped at some stage ... but if I have no idea what map is on it now, I just want to know if its possible for someone to put it back to normal, then put on a map of my choice. Confusing I know, but I have a feeling some of the running troubles I'm having/had could be down to this (if of course, it has been mapped). :)
    #4
  6. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,543
    Likes Received:
    1,328
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    if it's logging 210g/s then that's mapped for sure, a standard car would only be getting 180g/s or so tops.

    I'd say 210g/s from a visably standard car is infact pretty high! Most don't reach that kind of flow.

    Log block 115 which shows actual vs requested boost, that'll tell you what kind of boost it's running, which will confirm 100%
    #5
  7. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    Get a 3 inch tip fitted and take it to badger5 for some tweaks if you want more power. A member saw something like 19hp unleashed over a stage 1. With smoother delivery and more top end grunt.
    #6
  8. Essflee
    Offline

    Essflee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    I agree with prawn, your car is definitely mapped if your getting over 200g/s, 210 which your getting is good...

    As long as your happy with the way the car drives I'd leave it be, you won't improve on those figures, not enough to notice,

    Save your money...
    #7
  9. mikes3
    Offline

    mikes3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    yeah I know what you're saying - its strange because I bought the S3 after driving a Golf TDi around for 7 years (90 bhp I think !) - so the power jump was huge when I first got the car (me thinking it was 225 all along) - well all I can say is that at the moment I'm down on power, its definately not 260 at the wheels (boost leak somewhere still). I emailed Awesome GTi last week, they told me to bring it down (do they have a dyno there ?) so I need to save some beer tokens. Thing is, if I come to sell the car and I don't know what map is on it, would that be a big put off ?
    #8
  10. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    Awesome have a dyno yes
    #9
  11. hilly
    Offline

    hilly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    doesnt matter what engine they both map the same?
    #10
  12. hilly
    Offline

    hilly Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    but will it be a bam on 2003 my bad!
    #11
  13. mikes3
    Offline

    mikes3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 23, 2011]
    yeah its a BAM engine
    #12

Share This Page