1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MAF Sensor Quick Question

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by joegraham, Sep 5, 2013.

  1. joegraham
    Offline

    joegraham New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Hi

    Replacing my MAF sensor on my 2001 1.8T and the new MAF has 5 pins in the connection however the plug on my loom only has 4 bronze connections, the car is running bad aswell, it will idle fine however under power the car bogs down and splutters.

    I have looked online but cant find a definitive answer, have I got the wrong MAF and should I try and get a 4 pin one?

    Thanks

    Joe
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. madmike01uk
    Offline

    madmike01uk Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2013
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    21
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    how does it run with the MAF disconnected?
    #2
  4. joegraham
    Offline

    joegraham New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Only driven half a mile or so with it disconnected but it was much better!
    #3
  5. pauldazzle
    Offline

    pauldazzle Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    749
    Likes Received:
    40
    [Sep 6, 2013]
    You have the wrong MAF. Get a genuine VAG or Bosch MAF as aftermarket MAF's rarely work properly. Buy cheap buy twice is the rule with all VAG engine sensors.
    The VAG 1.8t's will run on default settings if the MAF is unplugged, which is why it's a way of diagnosing a goosed MAF.
    #4
  6. joegraham
    Offline

    joegraham New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 6, 2013]
    The Maf I got was a Bosch exchange unit (part no. 434440750), can anyone confirm this is the correct part no. for an a 2001 B6 1.8T? And as they have already sent my MAF away as I exchanged it straight away so I cant look at that for a part no. etc.

    The plug on the loom fit the connection on the sensor however the sensor had 5 pins.
    #5

Share This Page