1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MAF Sensor Help

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by duffy78, Mar 25, 2013.

  1. duffy78
    Offline

    duffy78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    Hi,

    Pulled my MAF sensor at the weekend with the intention of giving it a clean. My sensor seems to be missing a part, looks like it's supposed to have some external wire and a resistor.

    Mine looks like this

    [​IMG]



    Should it actually look like this???

    [​IMG]

    I just assumed that i must have knocked the wire off when i removed the sensor so I put one on order from eurocarparts. However the car runs fine with no CEL with the MAF refitted.

    Help would be appreciated as if it's not supposed to have this wire attached I may be wasting £60.



    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    Get a genuine one , non gen never seem to last. I bought one 2 weeks ago from TPS and it was 56+vat.
    #2
  4. duffy78
    Offline

    duffy78 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Mar 25, 2013]
    It's a bosch one I have on order. It's on hold at the minute until I can confirm if I've knocked that wire and resistor off.

    From what I can gather online the wire and resistor would be soldered on and not just clipped in place. There is no solder on my maf where the wire would be.

    I'm going to log my airflow tonight. If the maf is still working then ill be cancelling my order
    #3

Share This Page