1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maf seeing turbulent air, any idea on causes?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by slowcoach3, Sep 28, 2013.

  1. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    I've been doing some research and can't find much in the way of information, so wondered if anyone has any experience or knowledge on what causes a maf to see turbulent air? So far I've changed the maf as this needed doing anyway, swapped cone filters around, tried a short run wth no filter, changed the maf plug all to no avail. Both mafs were genuine bosch ones and have always been correctly supported by a heat shield on the end of my b5 TIP. Does anybody have any ideas?
    Cheers
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Team Daytona quattro Audi S3 Audi A6 Audi Avant Owner Group

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    28,760
    Likes Received:
    3,429
    How do you see/measure turbulent air going through the MAF ?!
     
  4. jimmcgee

    jimmcgee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    32
    X 2 :think:
     
  5. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,301
    Likes Received:
    3,480
    If the MAF tube is screened and has a straightener then it shouldn't see turbulent air... has seen idle and part throttle issues with de-screened MAFs before and even though it shows more airflow it actually makes less power

    <tuffty/>
     
  6. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    When you log airflow on vcds, when the rpm is the same normally aaround 4k in 4th for example and you look at throttle position-always on light part throttle- and rpm whilst the throttle and rpm is exactly the same the maf readings are all over the place! Sorry if that's a convulted answer! When this turbulence occurs it shows itself as a pulsing which is felt in the cabin as it feels like it rocks the engine
     
  7. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    The screen ia intact and I believe the maf is all in the correct position, sounds dumb but what do you mean by straightener?
     
  8. <tuffty/>

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow...
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    20,301
    Likes Received:
    3,480
    The plastic matrix thats typically covering the mesh... flow straightener...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    <tuffty/>
     
  9. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    Thanks tuffty, should have realised lol Yup all is present and correct as bosch intended. Bloody car.
     
  10. jimmcgee

    jimmcgee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    32
  11. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    Thanks dude, I appreciate that, I have given that a bash but I have tried pretty much everything, different brand new bosch mafs, filters no filters etc but it still persists. Weirdly its something that appeared overnight one day not there then bang. Doing my head in. Cars 100% fine on WOT though
     
  12. jimmcgee

    jimmcgee Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2011
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    32
    no problem lol , you have me wondering now , so going to log maf v rev on my torque app that i use every time in the car :thumbsup:
     
  13. badger5

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    9,166
    Likes Received:
    1,790
    perhaps lambda playing silly buggers
    narrow band on yours yea?

    try disconnecting it and seeing how it fares
     
    slowcoach3 likes this.
  14. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    It is narrowband yes, disconnect the lambda? I'll give it a shot :) I'm going to be up with Phil tomorrow so I might bring something to bribe you with and try and pick your brains for a minute or two...
     
    phil miller likes this.
  15. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    17,764
    Likes Received:
    673
    You could try a velocity stack on the end of the MAF. Most factory installations have a velocity stack, and they're often binned when you fit a cone filter.

    That said, i cant see why it could just appear randomly one day. Might make sense if it appeared after you'd fitted the cone.
     
  16. slowcoach3

    slowcoach3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    96
    As you say it's random and that's what's annoying me! If something had been changed I would go back over everything but it doesn't seem to be that easy!
     

Share This Page