1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MAF g/s figures from VAG

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Defratos, Nov 12, 2006.

  1. Defratos

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok guys, I've replaced my MOFO with the oem MAF and oem FPR. been driving for a day with it on and took some figures yesterday night. Interesting results (I think) lemmi know what you make of it.

    This is the old g/s chart:
    [​IMG]

    Now yesterday I did the same test and only got 140gs:
    [​IMG]

    But then I tried logging acceleration and shifting between 1st & 2nd gear and it peaked at 158gs:
    [​IMG]

    So now my question is should I be getting more like 166g/s or is this normal? Still going to do one final test to see how accelerating from 1st to 3rd would peak at. Thank for any help given :beerchug:
     
  2. Tallpaul

    Tallpaul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    you need to log in 4th gear.

    you should be seeing 160g/s or more at 6000rpm.
     
  3. Pete69zx

    Pete69zx Guest

    forgive my ignorance, but what is... g/s ?
     
  4. loftgroover

    loftgroover Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    It stands for grams per second. It is the mass of air that the engine is ingesting at any given time, the ecu uses this data to calculate the fuel needed.
     
  5. loftgroover

    loftgroover Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    It stands for grams per second. It is the mass of air that the engine is ingesting at any given time, the ecu uses this data to calculate the fuel needed.
     
  6. Defratos

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did log it in 4th gear (second graph) but only got 139gs. BUT when I was just doing a quick sprint from 1st to 2nd I got it up to 158gs (last graph). Do u think I've got a fecked MAF?
     
  7. Tallpaul

    Tallpaul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    the 1st/2nd gear log is not indicative of your MAF's operation.

    your curve on that 4th gear plot isn't very smooth but i don't know how data points were used so that's not conclusive.

    i'd have to guess that your MAF is fooked. how old is it?
     
  8. Defratos

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    it's a 2002 model and I got it at 2005, so now it's 2006 nearly 2007. so nearly 5 years old, damn didn't realise it was that old. So u reckon it's fooked how much does a new maf cost? might be worth just giving it a go?
     
  9. Defratos

    Defratos You’re Dethpicable!!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    P.S. Got no idea why the second graph wasn't smooth, I might take another reading later on this week (kinda hard finding space to do 4th gear throughout)
     
  10. Tallpaul

    Tallpaul Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2006
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    new MAF is £88 from Audi. If you have a search Jo-Jo posted about being able to buy just the element alone for about £50.

    Personally i'd pay more for one from Audi. MAF's are **** and break if you look at them, getting it from Audi will give a warranty should it fail again any time soon.

    in the absence of anything obviously wrong with your car then it's worth changing the MAF. You can tell if it's an original one because if it's been replaced it'll have a sticker with the part number on with an X at the end.
     
  11. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,140
    Likes Received:
    2,313
    I paid something like £55 from my local Carspares, and I got it replaced under warranty after a month due to a dodgy connector which damages the plug end, all is sorted now though, so cheaper and does the job, but not OE quality, does come with warranty though... or you can find one on ebay for £36 quid or something.
     
  12. ANDYTQ

    ANDYTQ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,075
    Likes Received:
    38
    Yep ebay 36 quid and genuine bosch and the whole thing not just the sensor.
     

Share This Page