1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Low torque but high boost?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by AVLO, Oct 19, 2013.

  1. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    Well after much consideration I have decided to keep my s3 I am now looking to upgrade to stage 2+, but earlier this year I had it on the rolling road at the local Yorkshire and humberside meet and it seems to have low torque at only 220lbft although it boosts to 21 psi could this have been achieved with a custom map with such torque could somebody have wound round the actuator? I just want to make sure it isn't a problem before I go any further?

    thanks
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,795
    Likes Received:
    1,285
    Timing pull or low timing advance settings will give low torque regardless of boost... don't get fixated on boost... car needs a health check with logging by the sounds... Bill had an S3 in last week that turned out to be timing pull from **** fuel...

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    Oh right thanks for that, we'll when I originally got my car it had a k&n panel filter, de-cat and a supposedly stage 1 map and up until the dyno day that's all it had along with me running it on vpower for 2 month and that was the result. I didn't realise they could pull torque back with high boost that's why I was concerned someone had wound round actuator and not been mapped?
    #3
  4. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    These were my results at the time

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    sorry for the second picture I had to use the not so good iPad camera.

    so would this indicate a revo stage 1 like I got told it had or something else?
    #4
  5. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,284
    Likes Received:
    673
    its not holding much boost up top.... healthy ones will hold 18psi up top..
    see what 115,118 blocks show for boost and n75 duty cycles
    #5
  6. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,529
    Likes Received:
    301
    It also taking AGES to get moving?

    Not making full boost until 4k and only 0.7bar at 3k?

    A stock car would be making over 100hp at 3krpm, yours is making 60?
    #6
  7. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,284
    Likes Received:
    673
    smacks of lazy (tired) turbo, but logs would maybe help clarify whats being asked for vs achieved etc
    #7
  8. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,578
    Likes Received:
    1,087
    Says The man that only ever wants to run 24psi :moa:
    #8
    StaceyS3, Prawn and Jason.s like this.
  9. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    Well it was meant to have had a new turbo under 30,000mile ago with reciept for nearly £600 I dont no how figures are meant to be but as soon as I get downpipe and fmic fitted I shall be giving you a call bill ;)
    #9
  10. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    You see I wasnt sure how this was different too a standard form s3 other than the high boost?? Which is the reason I asked peoples opinions?
    #10
  11. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,284
    Likes Received:
    673
    do you have access to vcds to log it at all?
    #11
  12. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    I havent got it personally but I can gain access to it as soon as I get chancebi will get some data logs, I cant understand why the psi drops on the graph as I have a boost gauge installed into the underside of the inlet manifold and the pressure stays around 21psi to the red line????
    #12
  13. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,284
    Likes Received:
    673
    that sounds weird and contrary to the plot from the dyno...
    #13
  14. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,479
    Likes Received:
    1,299
    Without meaning to sound rude here at all, are you absolutely sure it holds boost on the road?

    I've driven SOOOO many cars where the owner says it holds boost fine, then you drive it, and in reality it doesn't at all, but they're typically so fixed on the road that they've failled to notice boost dropping off on a small guage....
    #14
  15. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    #15
  16. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,284
    Likes Received:
    673
    21psi to redline would be virtually impossible on a stock k04 and actuator btw.......... The healthiest hold 18psi up there..

    happy gauge perhaps?
    #16
  17. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    Its a stack boost gauge plumbed into under inlet manifold! I could be wrong about holding to red line but I will check tonight, this relates back too my first question regarding could the actuator have been played about with on a stock map???
    #17
  18. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    Well guys after a redline in 4th I've realized that the psi does drop the higher up the rpm you go, i probably don't realise because I only usually go to 5,000rpm so I don't notice a big drop in the needle. I will have to get the car logged to show how things are.

    thanks for the advice chaps
    #18
  19. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 RIP S3dave Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,284
    Likes Received:
    673
    5k?? c'mon man... man up.. it aint a diesel :p
    #19
    StaceyS3, AVLO, ShaunS3 and 1 other person like this.
  20. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    If you want to have a blast down the A1 ill run some logs for you matt? I was in donny yesterday but didnt see this thread!
    #20
    ShaunS3 likes this.
  21. ShaunS3
    Offline

    ShaunS3 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    114
    Do you have vag tacho to carry out mileage correction?

    Matt- If you do this, I would like to come along too for educational purposes :)
    #21
    AVLO likes this.
  22. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    I have a cheap vag tacho yeah, but dont use it for milage correction. purely skc retrieval and eep reading. Wouldnt risk writing eeproms with it. I have a proper milage correction package for vag cars, but theres nothing to learn... i just plug it in, read current milage, write correct milage, job done!
    #22
  23. ShaunS3
    Offline

    ShaunS3 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    909
    Likes Received:
    114
    The learning is more for live data logging via vcds :)
    #23
  24. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,764
    Likes Received:
    175
    Im only going to tell both of you to google it while i button bash tbh LOL.

    i can check n75 duty and get you a nice actual v requested boost graph, but the rest im in the dark so have to rely on asn to work out what you need logging :D
    #24
  25. AVLO
    Offline

    AVLO Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    39
    Sorry for late reply I've only just finished work, gota get home yet, me and Shaun will have to organize a time to come through to yours Tom, as for what to read bill has gave me some block numbers I need to log. I will see what else needs logging. I just want to make sure I have a healthy car before I go for a stage 2 map :whistle2:
    #25
    ShaunS3 likes this.

Share This Page