1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Loud beeping whilst driving - but no warning lights?

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Grant_H, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 17, 2012]
    Hi all,

    Driving home tonight and the dash was beeping every so often; 3 beeps and then occasionally a single beep.

    I know that 3 beeps is a serious fault, but there were no accompanying warning signals on any of the dash lights or the LCD. I've also ran VCDS lite and no codes show up. Any ideas?

    Regards,

    Grant
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 23, 2014]

  3. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    Update - same happened again tonight. Didn't happen this morning though.

    Still no warning lights; and I've also checked the MFD is working as it scrolls through it's options when the button is pressed.

    Regards,

    Grant
    #2
  4. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    get it scanned with vcds
    #3
  5. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    Hi,

    Have done - see above

    Regards,

    Grant
    #4
  6. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    #5
  7. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,588
    Likes Received:
    315
    [Dec 18, 2012]
    Things that make the Beeps wont appear on vcds.
    #6
  8. PAULF
    Online

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Dec 19, 2012]
    It sounds like the dash insert board, and I'd recommend getting it fixed sooner rather than later. I used ECU Testing the second time after a bad time with BBA Reman

    Mrs PaulFs clock set was returned from a repair doing this, and at the same time nothing was displayed.

    When a rock went through the sump, the first indication was the engine stopping as we didn't notice the genuine beeps in amongst the random ones. A remanufactured 2.5TDi and turbo was not cheap.
    #7
  9. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2012]
    Hi there,

    Thanks for the reply! Is this an easy DIY fix?

    Regards,

    Grant
    #8
  10. PAULF
    Online

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Dec 22, 2012]
    Yes, you take the instrument cluster out, pack it and post it off with around 150-200 beer tokens. :thumbsup:

    When you get it back, put it back in. You'll find something doesn't work - usually fails to start and run. Then take it out and refit the plugs at the back properly.

    The insert comes out easily - lower the steering column to the lowest setting first to get the maximum clearance for removal. The there is a slide-off cover at the bottom of the cluster, this hides the 2 torx (can't remember the size, but not big) screws. You then fettle it out forward enough to unplug the connectors. They have a little latch to lift first. This latch is why you will not fit one back properly first time!
    #9
  11. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2012]
    Lol thanks for the reply :)

    Is that all that needs doing then? Just taking out and re-fitting?

    Thanks again,
    #10
  12. PAULF
    Online

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Dec 22, 2012]
    Sorry, I've not been clear, the steps are:-

    Taking out, sending away to get repaired at a cost of £150-200ish ​then refitting.

    I used ECU Testing, a quick check on here will give you other companies if you want.
    #11
  13. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 22, 2012]
    Ahh, I'm with you; so it's a fault with the actual board?
    #12
  14. PAULF
    Online

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Dec 23, 2012]
    Most likely - unless somebody else on here has a better idea.

    Call ECU Testing and see what they say - they may test it first at a cheaper rate.

    Another word of warning - don't think it is easier/cheaper to get another cluster.

    You need the correct one, and it needs to be coded as the immobiliser is built into the cluster. The coding procedure needs a code, extracted from the cluster. It is easy enough with the correct software (NOT VCDS) but essentially impossible without.
    The easy key programming method you get on the internet requiring two keys and a sequence of locking/unlocking only code the remote to the central locking.
    #13
  15. Grant_H
    Offline

    Grant_H Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2012
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 27, 2012]
    Update - problem fixed!

    I re-set the service interval as well as remove / reconnect everything. The red multiplug felt a bit loose; so might've been down to that.

    Thanks to everyone for their replies :)

    Regards,

    Grant
    #14

Share This Page