1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lost freeview channels.

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by jojo, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,608
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    [Apr 18, 2008]
    For some reason, my digital freeview box has decided to lose BBC1 and BBC2. The signal comes as full strength when I click on the channel, then the screen goes blank, and a 'no signal' box appears, no other channels are effected. It seemed to start last week right after we had a bout of heavy rain and hail and I can still watch those channels in analogue mode.
    Aerial is new, fitted approx. 10 months ago and is pointing in the right direction, do you think I have a duff box?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 27, 2014]

  3. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,353
    Likes Received:
    454
    [Apr 19, 2008]
    Have you rebooted it??

    You can tell i work in IT hey ;-)
    #2
  4. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,608
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    [Apr 20, 2008]
    Yup, rebooted it and still no joy, I think it's fecked being constantly on for the last 2 years lol, not bad for £20 from Tesco's I guess...
    #3
  5. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Apr 20, 2008]
    At least you can get Freeview! I had to get Sky as I don't live in a Freeview area...
    #4
  6. fingermouse
    Offline

    fingermouse thats me

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,771
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Apr 20, 2008]
    have you done a rescan ??? the bbc have been altering a few of their channels round here
    #5
  7. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,608
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    [Apr 20, 2008]
    Need to figure out how todo it, I've noticed all BBC related channels are gone.
    #6
  8. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,353
    Likes Received:
    454
    [Apr 20, 2008]
    Go into the system menu and you should have the option to do a rescan or a mater reset...
    #7
  9. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,608
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    [Apr 21, 2008]
    Tried the rescan function, it comes up as no signal then stops. It's a ***** box basically, time to invest in a new one just so I can watch repeats of Britain's got talent on ITV2 lol.
    #8
  10. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,608
    Likes Received:
    1,965
    [Apr 22, 2008]
    OK. got it working, a rescan wasn't good enough, needed a first time intellation scan, all the channels are back.
    #9
  11. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,353
    Likes Received:
    454
    [Apr 22, 2008]
    I was going to say that next, but cool, glad you got it sorted...
    #10

Share This Page