1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lost AM reception on Symphony II unit

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by DuncS3, Feb 25, 2006.

  1. DuncS3
    Offline

    DuncS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2006]
    Okay, not as exciting as big turbos etc but has anyone experienced this?

    Basically FM etc works perfectly as always, but for the last couple of months my AM reception has gone to pot, bascially cant listen to it, almost no reception - used to be perfectly clear

    any ideas?

    Dunc
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Feb 25, 2006]
    what year is your car? There were signal amps originally in the roof aerial but when those failed it was a bugger to replace so they changed it into the head unit. I noticed this when I swapped to a kenwood head unit - my AM was useless. I bought a booster and shoehorned it in behind the HU. I guess it could be a failure of this either on the aerial or in the headunit.
    #2
  4. DuncS3
    Offline

    DuncS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 25, 2006]
    I think AM comes from the head unit so it doesn't use the aerial. Perhaps your head unit is knackered?
    #4
  6. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 25, 2006]
    I had a similar problem on my S3 which after much pain I traced to an aerial splitter that sits ontop of the sub box. Their was a loose connector inside of it which i resoldered, this cured the problem.
    #5
  7. DuncS3
    Offline

    DuncS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 25, 2006]
    Cheers - I dont think the head unit is 'knackered' as everything else works perfectly fine

    I'll start having a look at the aerial splitter

    Dunc
    #6
  8. AndyS3
    Offline

    AndyS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2006]
    Hi dunk

    Had the same problem a while ago, it was the aerial. I had it replaced under warrenty and have never had a problem since. If i recall they said water had got into it, sounded like a common problem as they were able to tell me it was probably the aerial when i described the problem.
    #7
  9. DuncS3
    Offline

    DuncS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 26, 2006]
    Is the aerial easy to swap out? Anyone know? depends on price etc but if its easy to swap might try that first.

    Dunc
    #8
  10. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Feb 26, 2006]
    The aerial on the roof is quite easy to change, just remove the roof lining and undo the bolt that holds the aerial to the roof. The aerial has a built in amp in the base, just be careful not to damage the rubber seal at the base of the aerial.
    However having said all this i beleive the am reception is through an aerial in the rear window and not the roof mounted aerial. As your problem is with AM reception I think you should check the aerial splitter and the cable that runs from it to the rear screen first.
    #9

Share This Page