losing brake fluid

symeon

Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here.
Ive got an 80E 2.0, which appears to be losing brake fluid quite rapidly. I have only owned the car for just over a week, had to replace the discs and pads all round as they were all worn (got the car cheap, so not complaining) and so bled the entire system to replace the fluid at the same time.
However, it seems to lose almost the entire reservoir of fluid overnight whilst stood. Ive checked the lines, and the master cylinder/servo area and there is no visible leakage.
The only thing I have noticed is some crimping on one of the copper lines to the rear where it looks like someone used it as a jack point in the past, but again, no leakage, and nothing on the floor in the morning either.
So, before I take it to a garage and have a heart attack at the cost of whatever it may be, I wondered if anyone had any ideas.

Thanks in advance.

Psy

Some models use the brake fluid reservoir to supply the clutch master cyl as well, rubber hose can leak here. Also the rear brake proportioning valve can leak, but I'd guess you would see a puddle? The clutch hose might weep onto the gearbox/subframe?

How does it brake? If the brakes appear weak its possible fluid is leaking past the master cylinder seals into the servo. If this is the case the servo will store the lost fluid, hence no leakage. The only way to check is to seperate the master cylinder and servo.

Update: The brakes are completely fine, in fact better than my last car, and that had no leak lol.
I think I may have narrowed down where it is leaking from, although still no idea where it goes. I have noticed some fluid staining on the 'face' of the servo, from the master cylinder downover, although if that is from leakage or spillage I am not sure. Like I say, it brakes fine, fantastic in fact, ABS on or off, so I can only think that if it is leakage on the servo, it can only be coming from the connection between the reservoir and master cylinder.