1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking to put mini DV on to Computer

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by johneroberts, Jan 5, 2003.

1. johneroberts

johneroberts Member

[Jan 5, 2003]
    So what do i need, besides a firewire card and editing package, im new at the movie bit, but got some great footage from last few trackdays.
    Cheers
    jr
  2. Ads

Ads

[Sep 23, 2014]

3. A4Steve

A4Steve Guest

[Jan 5, 2003]
    If you're running XP all you need is a f/w card /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif You plug it in and record.

Editing is **** though on the std. package - Moviemaker /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

Pinnacle Studio is about the best one for general use I've found.
  4. PunjabiA4

PunjabiA4 New Member

[Jan 5, 2003]
    ya don't need much else m8! well enough hard drive space and a NTFS drive (i.e XP computer). I've used a few. Adobe Premier is the daddy but is quite difficult to use, then Pinnacles Studio DV which is good. I use Ulead VideoStudio 6 which is p*ss easy to use. It create dvd's, vcd's as well as wmv's, mpegs and avi's for the web.

I remember giving CFCMick a demo /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif

I believe you can download demos from the web of most the above programs ahem! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

check out VCD Help for some good info.
  5. DuncS3

DuncS3 Member

[Jan 5, 2003]
    can anyone recommend a decent/moderately priced firewire card?
  6. scoTTy

scoTTy Active Member

[Jan 5, 2003]
    A guy at work went into PC World and came back with a triple firewire card for £29. I paid £150 inc s/w about 2 years ago /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif
  7. Foggy

Foggy New Member

[Jan 5, 2003]
    What do you want it for, desktop or laptop, ie. PCI or PCMCIA ?