1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking to do my own remap??!!!

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by geoffersmaher, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2012]
    Hi guys I always like to try these things myself as its the only way you learn ,
    So through a friend Id made when I did a mechanics course I managed to get a copy of vagcom, just waiting on a laptop now as I'm a mac man.
    The otherreason I want to learn how to use it is id like to add the lbc abs cruise control which I've seen folk do.
    but I was wondering about a couple of things , the first being which cable as this seems like a mine field and also re map files.


    Audi A4, A6 Remap File 1.9 TDI 130BHP to 165BHP Tuned File VW | eBay

    Like this one, is it a good map? I've seen ones that offer more power etc and also I'm looking at future mods inc exhausts front mount turbo etc so how easy will it be to use a re map with those?

    sorry for the silly questions, I've done a bit of hunting and it's all confusing If Im honest, so flame away if necessary
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. gen.heinz guderian
    Offline

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    125
    [Sep 11, 2012]
    you will need a licensed cable and software to perform most of the bits you want.
    As for the remap ,get it done by a reputable company.
    #2
  4. matt1.8t
    Offline

    matt1.8t Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2012
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2012]
    Alot of maps you can buy is just rewritten software on a laptop which any muppet can do and fugg it up big time.
    Only ever use DYNO tested maps as these are done on the car via a rolling road etc. These are the maps I use and have never had one back with a fault that was caused by remapping
    #3
  5. astradti16v
    Offline

    astradti16v Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 11, 2012]
    #4
  6. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 12, 2012]
    VCDS/vagcom will not remap a car, dont mess with things you dont have tools for as maps can basically disable the car completely, be warned.
    #5
  7. cjsuk
    Offline

    cjsuk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    81
    [Sep 12, 2012]
    +1 I tried and failed see this: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-forum-8l-chassis/163943-oops-broke-my-ecu.html

    Luckley the lad who helped me through it, sent my ecu back to me with a safe map (203bhp according to logs).

    Don't get me wrong it can be done, but inexperience will most likeley goose your ecu and you might not have the luck I had.

    Its not vagcom (VCDS) that does the mapping either its another program, and you have to use a cable with an FDTI chip in it.
    #6
  8. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 12, 2012]
    Cjsuk can I ask who helped?

    After having a look at the black smoke site I think this is one I may steer clear of, more research is needed me thinks

    Thanks for all the help so far guys
    #7
  9. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    151
    [Sep 12, 2012]
    It's essentially piracy too, a so called proffesional encouraging the use of dodgy equipment :(
    #8
  10. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    The chap did only give me a copy of vag com, from what I can tell he's given me the wrong thing anyway so I wont be doing owt with it, maybe fitting cruise control and full obc. Would you rather I download it off a torrent site along with some illegal maps etc etc or borrow a copy of a friend who is a mechanic???? It's software lent between friends that is all, no need to be prudent about it.
    #9
  11. cjsuk
    Offline

    cjsuk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    81
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    Ill get in touch with him and ask mate :)
    #10
  12. cjsuk
    Offline

    cjsuk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    81
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    I have asked, awating reply, you may receive a pm
    #11
  13. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    Thank you cjsuk
    #12
  14. warren_S5
    Offline

    warren_S5 Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    7,176
    Likes Received:
    2,359
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    Be careful, any damage you inadvertently cause could end up costing more than a basic remap, the tools aren't cheap for starters, and unless you have expertise and a clear understanding as to what you are doing (and what effect altering the parameters will have on other inputs), there is a risk of causing further engine / component damage which may also outweigh the cost of a basic remap. Tread with caution!
    #13
  15. Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev.
    Offline

    Rick @ Unicorn Motor Dev. Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2012
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    151
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    You misunderstand me.

    The cable equipment to remap costs thousands of pounds. If you haven't got this, then the only way of doing it is to use a non genuine pirated cable.

    Thanks, Rick
    #14
  16. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2012]

    thanks warren, this is why i asked :) it sounds far too complex for me to actually do with the limited experience i have with this sort of thing. that and all the stuff i dont have and needs thank you for the advice think ill kjust spend the 200 odd on a re map
    #15
  17. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,321
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    With respect, there's no such thing as a copy of vagcom in genuine terms, as the license is in the genuine cables & the software is free to download & use with such, so why he has given you a copy defies logic unless he has given you a counterfeit cable aswell, also there is no such thing as software lent between friends when comes to vagcom as again its the cable that does the authentication & its free to download.

    Also software lent between friends when comes to licensing from many software vendors, unless is used on the same pc goes against the license purchased.

    So on one hand its more than likely the mapping software/cable are counterfeited & other hand vcds aka vagcom is also possibly the same, both of which you would be stupid to even consider using on your car IMHO.

    Also, its not about being prudent, so I think thats an unfair comment, its about giving you sound protective advise using fake tools on your working car, if it goes tits up then you'll be back on here or another forum complaining & then asking how to fix it, common sense prevails, ok you want to learn, but learn sensibly, not at a huge cost of cocking it all up.

    This is posted as friendly, not to cause friction, so please dont take it as such Geoff :)
    #16
  18. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    thanks for the info rick, i did not know this and nor did my mate at the garage either, they specialized in ford stuff mainly 60's and 70's but he had a copy kicking about

    this is why i joind the forum for its wealth of info from knowledgeable folks :cool:
    #17
  19. geoffersmaher
    Offline

    geoffersmaher New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 13, 2012]
    i certainly dont take it in any bad way , and im here for all the help i can, like i say i try to take my hand to whatever i can including body work fitting coil overs all servicing etc etc so i always like to have a go.
    and again like i say my friend had a cd lying around his work shop so i thought id look into it.
    i didn't realize it would need cables with signatures etc etc as my only experience of obd is the Bluetooth adapter i have stuck int my obd port on the audi and the torque app i have on my android phone.

    like i say im hear to lean so i can only thank you guys for the help :sm4:
    #18

Share This Page