Looking at buying B7 S4 - Advice plx

Av4nt

Reaction score
Hi,

Used 2005 Audi S4 S4 QUATTRO for sale in Essex | Pistonheads

I am looking into buying the above. I am NEW to the contemplation of an S4 and when it comes to asking the important questions and having a test drive..what am I looking for to avoid? I have a 2.0 TDI at moment so things will be different!

I am aware these run on timing chains and not belts... other than if its ever snapped or had major work to the tensioners etc what should I check for in regards to this? Also never had an auto before, what to look/listen for with gearbox opposed to manual?

Anything generally that would make you say.. hell no!

Cheers

Good luck with your intended purchase Matey. Am no expert as this Forum can confirm , however, for starters I would want a full documented service book....and nothing less. These engines are deadly to your wallet if someone goes wrong. if it's a chain cam driven stay clear of any sound of rattle on start up, as I understand that that's a clue that the chains are f#cked! Not a big fan of auto boxes, but I would be checking that all sounds right with no noises when driving. Lastly, make sure every switch and control works. Not sure of the service intervals on this engine. Check for rust on inside of front wings are rear quarter panels at the bumper/ wheel arch.

Am sure someone will be along soon with better advice....main thing, don't rush keep a cool head.... it's a buyers market and lots to choose from in the UK.

BR
A

Thanks for that. I wondered if the rattle would pop up here. According to other forums.. rattle on startup was disclosed a "acceptable and normal" by audi themselves. I personally have nl clue as to how correct that is but this is the joy on conflicting accounts i guess.

Aye, well Audi's rep with chain cam engines isn't great....apart from the old classic 1.9tdi engine. Audi also told me that the rust popping up on all my wings and rear hatch door is acceptable too! hahaha