1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

List all the best VCDS programming features

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by k9audi, Sep 16, 2011.

  1. k9audi
    Offline

    k9audi NITRO

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    #1
  2. degraffb
    Offline

    degraffb New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    does this work on the face lift models, 2009 and up?
    #2
  3. Yaks
    Offline

    Yaks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    Changing your DRL setting from North American to Scandanavian, the difference being that your rear lights are on when it's Scandanavian
    #3
  4. Rob-Quattro
    Offline

    Rob-Quattro Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    12
    ^ can you do that?! I have DRL's on my 2007 plate but wanted my rear lights on aswell... This what it does?
    #4
  5. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    52
    Here's a few little adjustments you can make:

    Tear-drop wipe on your rear wiper. So you get an extra wipe a few seconds after the normal last wipe at the rear.

    Front fogs as DRL's (you can reduce the brightness to whatever % you like).

    Disable 'window drop by holding key in unlock position' function (a good security feature).

    Chirp or no Chirp when locking/unlocking

    Come home Leave home lights (as mentioned above)

    Disable or enable the ability to unlock just the drivers door with one push of the button on the remote.

    Hazard flash when doing an emergency stop.
    Last edited: Sep 16, 2011
    #5
    claretblue likes this.
  6. Yaks
    Offline

    Yaks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep, as I said, rear lights are on when the DRLs are on. I got my local independant to do it when it was in for a service as I don't have VCDS
    #6
  7. dantdi
    Offline

    dantdi ...

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    4
    Tear-drop wipe on your rear wiper. So you get an extra wipe a few seconds after the normal last wipe at the rear.

    Can this be done on the front too?
    If so dose anyone have a how to guide?
    Oh and Hazard flash when doing an emergency stop?:blush:
    #7
  8. k9audi
    Offline

    k9audi NITRO

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you programm extra feature on your clock display ie digital mph?
    #8
  9. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    52
    I didn't see an option to do it for the front wipers, I suppose it's because the last wipe on the fronts is a slower than normal wipe to stop water flicking up from the end. I know what you mean though, because you still get the bits running down from the top.

    The hazard flash option works when you brake very hard over 40mph. It puts the hazards on for a few seconds to warn people behind that you're stopping fast. On later models than mine there is also the option to have the brake lights flash instead (or as well as). I know some people have turned off the hazard flash and just had brake light flash on the newer models as the hazards come on too early for some people when they're out for a spirited drive.
    #9
  10. RMH1A4cab
    Offline

    RMH1A4cab I'm in Cruise control

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    15
    I wish I could do this on my A4 (b7) but I'm sure it doesn't support long coding , unless anyone knows different .
    #10
  11. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    52
    As far as I know, you either have it or you don't. I don't think you can program an older unit to show your speed. Someone will correct me if I'm wrong hopefully.
    #11
  12. t8ups
    Offline

    t8ups Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,209
    Likes Received:
    288
    these all seem good, how about how to activate them? i have vcds and have had it for a week so would like to know how you would do them?

    Thanks
    #12
  13. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,504
    Likes Received:
    397
    all the options above do work on most cars...

    front tear drop wipers option is not there

    digital MPH is a DIS thing not really a coding thing... you need to have a speedo cluster that supports it,

    Scandinavian DRL is nice if you have the newer sportback rear leds otherwise i would leave it at American DRL setting as i have.

    there are a few more things that can be done, i enabled the American style 'always on' indicator lights on Farhan's car at 50% brightness which works perfectly.
    #13
  14. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Rear lights on with DRL's is called side lights. :)

    Anyway...dont want to pee on your fireworks chaps but this has all been done before on a thread with coding by Staz a while back...
    #14
  15. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    you can set tear drop on the fronts for facelift cars......:)
    #15
  16. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    Can you? Hummm, off to have a look!
    #16
  17. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    Audi have played with the front wiper system over the years. My first A3 (2003) did the additional wipe 5 seconds after the main wipes had finished. On my second A3 (2006), this changed and the last downward sweep of the main wipes was much slower. On my current car the final downward sweep is slower, but not as slow as it was on the last car, and it sometimes does the additional wipe too, but not always! I've given up trying to work it out :D

    As for the above VCDS 'tricks'. I'd read about the rear DRLs but the info I read didn't correlate with my car (60-plate, 2011MY) so if anyone has the details please let me know.

    Be interested in the hazard flash too if that can be done on my car?
    #17
  18. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    Those of us with auto lights don't have a "side lights" option :)
    #18
  19. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Well i have auto lights and a side light option...

    http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1253/1254285645_f6fcaa890a.jpg

    A
    uto/sidelights/main beam

    Auto switches on the LED DRL's with no rear lights........unless its dark :)
    Sidelights dims the DRL's and switches on rear lights
    Main swithches on main beam and dimmed DRL's

    Interior lights are quite separate when on auto and are controlled by the sensor in the speedo so you can have exterior headlights on via auto with no interior lights for example.
    Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
    #19
  20. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    Actually you're right - I'm talking ****** :D
    #20
  21. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    I do that at this time of night too :)
    #21
  22. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,504
    Likes Received:
    397
    since you guys are on the subject does anyone know how the pre-facelift auto functions work properly as in when the switch is set to off in the daytime do the DRLs still come on? so that it is controlled only by the roller switch? or do the DRLs only come on when the switch is set to auto in daytime and then headlights take over when it gets dark?
    #22
  23. Yaks
    Offline

    Yaks Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeh, but then you manually have to switch them on and off every trip, rather than just leave at the DRL/auto setting.
    #23
  24. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    Take your point.... that would be a killer :lmfao:
    #24
  25. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    52
    We've come to the conclussion that the wipers department at Audi had the biggest budget :laugh:
    #25
  26. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    LOL, sounds about right. The way that they won't move when you start the car if you've left them on the day before until you start actually moving, so they don't try to move if they've frozen up over night. The way they park themselves in a slightly different position each time to prevent blade wear. Someone really thought about this.

    TBH this is what I like about Audi, there are so many small and subtle touches, things you don't notice at first but make sense. Things like it automatically turning the stereo volume down when reversing so you can hear the parking sensors. Things like turning the lights on when it's raining during the day but not turning the interior lights on too, nor turning the satnav to night mode as that's not necessary.
    #26
  27. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    "Things like it automatically turning the stereo volume down when reversing so you can hear the parking sensors"?

    Is this a coding option, as both my A3 and S3 never do this?
    #27
  28. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    its prob Bose equipped cars...these have a noise sensor which mediates the volume consistant with noise in the cabin (mounted in the map light module)
    #28
  29. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    My A3 had no BOSE but my S3 does and both the same?
    #29
  30. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,710
    Likes Received:
    248
    Mine's done it from new, never changed any coding. Do have BOSE but don't see why this would be necessary as it's not like the auto-volume thing BOSE provides, more like the lowering of the volume when the nav speaks.

    Only seems to do it if the music is above a certain volume though.
    #30
  31. danb986
    Offline

    danb986 In awe of VCDS

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    52
    Sounds like you need to crank up the stereo some more Silky :p
    #31
  32. S.
    Online

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    216
    mine doesn't do that.
    #32
  33. paddy
    Offline

    paddy Audi=No fault code, no idea

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,133
    Likes Received:
    122
    mine does :)

    animal is referring to "audi Pilot" in BOSE cars. I had mine disconnected as its the most stupid thing you will ever find on a car. IF i want audi to control the volume in my car i can use Gala but to have a system that turns the volume up and down and cant be switched off by the driver is just daft.

    My car turns the volume down to a set level when reversing but its not a mute so it only does it if the volume is high. If you have a MY11 and you think it dosnt do it try turning the volume up high and then putting in reverse.
    Last edited: Sep 18, 2011
    #33
  34. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,393
    Likes Received:
    305
    OK, cheers. I'll crank it up and let you know!
    #34
  35. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    have you looked at central electrics long coding byte 18? try these options if you already havnt
    for 5 door usa drl = 2b, scaninavian = 2c
    for 3 dr usa drl = 25, scandinavian = 26

    you might have to directly edit the hex string rather than use the pulldown menus for these ones
    #35
  36. jerseypaul
    Offline

    jerseypaul Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    28
    Can my folding mirrors automatically fold in when the ignition is switched off and out again when switched on?
    My frieds Citroen and Honda do it.
    Can the sun roof open and close with the "press and hold" convenience window key function?
    Cheers
    #36
  37. dunk
    Offline

    dunk Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    1
    no to the mirrors - the a3/tt chassis cant do this unless you modify the wiring
    the sunroof is supposed to work but never had a sunroof so cant test it, sorry
    #37
  38. herrmax
    Offline

    herrmax Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    21
    i want my dash lights to stay on all the time instead of coming on and off all the time:keule:
    #38
  39. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,504
    Likes Received:
    397
    do you mean the speedo cluster lights? i have this enabled in mine as it got on my nerves when i used to go into a tunnel and then the lights would dim out half way through and i would have to switch the lights on to see how fast i am going. yes i know Audi did this purposely to make people turn on their lights in dark areas but then they should just fit auto lights as standard!
    #39
  40. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    Pre face's dont have DRL's matey......

    On mine the DRL's work on Auto then when it senses darkness, the main beam fires up as you'd expect....remember you have the roller switch for DRL as you bought the TT switch, the A3/S3 doesn't have a roller for the DRL's at all on any model
    #40

Share This Page