1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limp mode

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by G Force, Dec 16, 2008.

  1. G Force
    Offline

    G Force New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 16, 2008]
    Hi folks,

    Seem to be experience a loss in performance in the S3, going to get it booked into my local specialist ASAP.

    Basically my question is .... How limp is limp mode?

    Cheers,
    G.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Maz
    Offline

    Maz Moon is made of green cheese

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2005
    Messages:
    1,015
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Dec 16, 2008]
    The only time mine went into limp mode was due to a coilpack failure, its drivable but no more than 30mph.
    #2
  4. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    [Dec 16, 2008]
    imagine...... no don't infact:ohmy:
    #3
  5. G Force
    Offline

    G Force New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 16, 2008]
    Cheers.

    My car's therefore not in limp mode.

    Hopefully it's something nice and simple.
    #4
  6. Essflee
    Offline

    Essflee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 17, 2008]
    When my car used to go into limp mode i could still acheive 70-80mph but would take a while to get there:whip:, as if i had no turbo what so ever....I would actually get out pulled by a lot lesser cars.
    #5
  7. G Force
    Offline

    G Force New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2006
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 17, 2008]
    That's exactly how the car's performing - as if it doesn't have a turbo!
    #6
  8. Essflee
    Offline

    Essflee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,031
    Likes Received:
    28
    [Dec 17, 2008]
    Is your car standard....my issue turned out to be the map, the car was over boosting, or this is as i'm led to believe anyway.... i had the car remapped a second time with a different company 'jabbasport' and never had problems since....
    #7

Share This Page