1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Limp mode and Speed signal sensor!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by MURRAYS444, Jul 27, 2012.

  1. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    [HR][/HR]Hi had my car scanned and had speed signal sensor come up and then had the fault code cleared and my car was running fine now after driving the same code keeps coming up and my car will go into limp mode + the engine management light being on will the speed signal sensor be the cause???
    #1
  2. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    If thats the only code, then yes.
    #2
  3. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,925
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Interesting, I had a dead speed signal sensor on my car and drove it for 10 miles, and it never went into limp mode? Not difficult to change though, it's down the back of the gearbox by the bulkhead side. Just need to remove airbox completely for better access. Part was around £25 many moons ago off the top of my head.
    #3
  4. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Cheers hopefully that is the problem its been doing my head in i'll try and get the sensor replaced and hopefully everything will be back to normal!
    #4
  5. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Aye I seen a diagram of where the part is located cheers for the advice on how to fit it that's making me a happy man:icon_thumright:
    #5
  6. cjsuk
    Offline

    cjsuk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    565
    Likes Received:
    82
    Aka crank shaft sensor, it can cause quite a few problems, limp mode, fail to start, epc light, crappy running, stalls etc, bit of a pig to get to but I did it so anyone can do it lol
    #6
  7. jojo
    Offline

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    25,925
    Likes Received:
    1,558
    Mine was the speed sensor that took the speed of the car from the gearbox. Without it, the speedo never moved(along with the odo). Crank sensor is a different part and is called a crank sensor for a reason, for engine timing, not a speed sensor.
    #7
  8. chazza55
    Offline

    chazza55 got an S3 8L: living the dream

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    4
    yup - i had a crank sensor issue which threw on the epc light after about 10mins running.........this got worse and eventually would cause the engine to cut out.

    It ended up being heat related. When i let the engine cool down, it would start again - confirmed by checking the resistance cold and once hot. - Replacement Bosch sensor from Audi was £108 last september. Pattern parts are cheaper.

    When i had my issues it would also cause the intake cam sensor code to flag up as it was basically getting out of sync with the crank sensor whilst the crank sensor was cutting in and out.

    Well worth a replacement - i ended up being towed home off the M2.
    #8
  9. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Aye I was on the way to TPS and the jubilee clip poped off the hose going to the charge pipe:banghead: so never got the part today I phoned TPS and the price for it is £111 so I might be better going to Audi or searching online for a better price! chazza55 my car has begun to struggle to start up too!
    #9
  10. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    bit of an update

    Iv ordered the crank sensor and I'll get it fitted soon hopefully this will cure the limp mode and the car will be working ok if that 's not the problem i'll order a speed sensor to hopefully cure the problem fingers crossed :o.k:
    #10

Share This Page