1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lighting On Dials

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by Pon3s, Aug 19, 2014.

  1. Pon3s

    Pon3s New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    Is there any way of having the dials light up without switching the side/headlights on? I ask since they can be really dim (other than the needles which are lit up) in some conditions e.g. driving in the shadow of tall trees. I've also noticed that when entering a tunnel, for example, they seem to light up automatically, but only momentarily, is this just to prompt you to switch the lights on?
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Pon3s

    Pon3s New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    6
    I read the manual, p9: "The instrument lighting is dimmed automatically as the daylight starts to fade. This function is intended to remind the driver to switch on the dipped beam headlights...". So I guess I am seeing this happening when entering a tunnel or in shadow, it's pretty annoying.
     
  4. monopole

    monopole Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    469
    I'm sure you can do this thru VCDS.
     
  5. tankclark

    tankclark Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    66
    Will this be automatic with auto lights I take it
     
  6. cemerson

    cemerson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2013
    Messages:
    4,175
    Likes Received:
    894
    Yeh, doesn't affect auto lights in auto mode. The lights just turn on!
     
  7. veeeight

    veeeight I am a very pretty girl
    VCDS Map User Black Edition

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    6,472
    Likes Received:
    4,312
  8. Pulp84

    Pulp84 Well-Known Member
    Audi S3

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2013
    Messages:
    2,182
    Likes Received:
    1,073
    Haven't driven it enough to fully investigate but my MMI screen goes fairly dull when it's dark and lights on. Everything turned to the max also.....

    Made me wonder about the auto light feature etc.
     
  9. cuke2u

    cuke2u Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2013
    Messages:
    3,021
    Likes Received:
    680
    There is a separate setting for the screen brightness from the dials within the mmi settings...
     

Share This Page