'Left Dipped headlight'

hambo1412

Reaction score
Hi Guys, Im new to the whole forum thing. I have a 06 plate Audi A3 8P 2.0 tdi 140.

About two/three weeks ago I had the 'left dipped head' error message come up on the dash. It came on and went off intermitantly for a day or so. I didnt think anything of it as the lights were working fine. Last weekend I was driving back home from a weekend away and the error message came up again and the left dipped headlight went out. Main beam still works fine. I stopped at the next garage and thought that a new bulb would solve the problem. WRONG! I spent about 20 minutes in the dark trying to work out the problem then gave up and carried on the next 100 miles with full beams on as low low level setting as I could.

Since then Ive looked at the fuses but I can't seem to find if the headlights are individually fused? Im not very car/electrical savy!

Ive looked at various forums but they mainly link to HID lights. Mine are the standed lights with halogen H7 bulbs.

I wanted to see if any has had the same problem and solved it before I take it to Audi to have my bank account drained. Any ideas?

Sounds like a dodgy bulb or a loose connection, you should be fine changing it yourself. by the way, unless i'm mistaken the full beams cannot be adjusted up or down, that setting is only for the dipped lights! you'd have blinded thousands of drivers!!!

Thanks for the reply anthonyess.

I will take the headlight unit out at the weekend and have a look at all the connections. Ive switched the bulbs from both left hand and right hand side and the one from the right (that was working) didnt work on the left hand side and the one from the left hand side worked in the right. So will check all connections as I said and see what happens.