1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LED Number Plate Unit Conversion

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by david_phillips95, Dec 21, 2009.

  1. Scott

    Scott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,296
    Likes Received:
    123
    For what it's worth I have been running mine for a few months (maybe 4-5+)
    See up for which bulbs I'm using
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    I just bought myself a set from the convert2xenon site. The same as N8 etc has. I will post pics to show what they look like when they arrive and have fitted them.
     
  4. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,172
    Likes Received:
    718
    No problems, running them for about 4 months, no problems.

    No fault codes and they've been great.

    Nice one Dan. :thumbsup:
     
  5. Splathead

    Splathead Active Member
    Team Estoril VCDS Map User Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    80
  6. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
  7. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    Right people,

    Received my LED number plate lights couple days after ordered them, fitted them today and they look the nuts i must say, BUT, after using my car today a few times, i have now started to get the error on my DIS....WHYYYYYYY!!!?? Why would it work fine with no errors all day and then throw up a hissy fit? Whilst the error occurs, if i switch the ignition off and on again, the lights will switch back on, but the error will remain.... What can I do?

    Thanks, Dan
     
  8. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,661
    Likes Received:
    115
    Not sure if the resistors would play a part in this problem but have you checked them?
     
  9. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    I havnt yet, bit late now so cant be arsed with it. Will take a look tomoz. However these little festoon style led replacements already have the correct resistance fitted, apparently!
     
  10. david_phillips95

    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    Looks like these "perfect" bulbs arent as perfect as various people have made out :lmfao: i can confirm my lights are running perfectly with no problems, +1 to my UFO beams :laugh:
     
  11. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    hahaha I have been using my car today and so far no more errors...bit weird huh.
     
  12. ifty786786

    ifty786786 New Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    number plate lights look nice, gonna get them on mine.
     
  13. Mattfaced

    Mattfaced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think i would get errors on my 97 1.8t agu with these would i?
     
  14. david_phillips95

    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    i dont think you would, the units im running have built in resistors to prevent errors anyways.

    One of my favourite mods so far :)
     
  15. david_phillips95

    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
  16. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    41
    Dave - useful post Thanks. Any problems a month on?

    I am interested in changing mine also for the Festoons...

    N8 mate, did you ever get any pics uploaded showing yours off?

    Don't other Audi Models have OEM Led Rear Number Plate Lights which would fit?

    KKP
     
    #55 kkp0897, Jan 30, 2010
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2010
  17. david_phillips95

    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    2
    Not a single issue mate, i knew as soon as i opened the box they would be perfect. They are really well made, yeah there expensive but you get what you pay for. After reading about people wiring in resistors etc i went off the idea of just changing the bulb, also the lens of the OEM bulb holder is not designed for LED bulbs so does not transmit the light as well as these do.
    N8 has yet to post pictures of his setup that is "perfect" lol :)
     
  18. smythey1

    smythey1 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
  19. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    40
    i have heatsunk led bulbs in mine produces the same light with no errors, ive been toying with the idea of getting these but at £35 a set im reluctant perhaps a group buy?
     
  20. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    41
  21. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    40
    they will be about the same light output as your origional halogens but will be a nice colour ive put a set in my rear convenience lighting, looks like they will bring on a bulb error too
     
  22. Advert Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. Pii

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    4
    Such a simple thing and yet looks so good!
     
  24. I'mRonBurgundy?

    I'mRonBurgundy? Lets make that kitten purr...

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
  25. Splathead

    Splathead Active Member
    Team Estoril VCDS Map User Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    237
    Likes Received:
    80
    Yep, no problems with mine.
     
  26. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have these mate, and i too get errors, on my 55 plate a3. I spoke to the company and they offered a refund, but just cant be arsed at mo to take them back out. Its weird, i only get errors on the dash whens its wet outside....why do you think that is?

    Dan
     
  27. I'mRonBurgundy?

    I'mRonBurgundy? Lets make that kitten purr...

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    No idea.

    Mine don't even seem to work! Swapped the passenger side and tested fine but when I swapped the drivers-side neither worked and I got the bulb error too.
     
  28. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    41
    Pardon my ignorance, what happens if you put the original ones back in? Does the error disappear or is it a Vagcom to reset the error? I'm interested also, Number plates, puddle lights, interior lights.. the full monty basically but approaching this change with caution.

    Cheers, KKP
     
  29. I'mRonBurgundy?

    I'mRonBurgundy? Lets make that kitten purr...

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    All back to normal with the originals in - no errors and both bulbs working.

    Most seem to get no error or just the error, due to the voltage drop, but I'm experiencing the bulbs not working at all. Might be a duff bulb I guess so will have another go next weekend.
     
  30. PH1L

    PH1L Gievf Buckets
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    40
    did you try them the opposite way round?, leds are polarity sensitive
     
  31. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    Drop them an email mate and they will offer a refund if you send them back. I cant be bothered at mo, Its a shame, because they do work I would say 90% of the time, and they look the absolute nuts. But I think soon I will have to go for the other more expensive bulbs some of the guys here have got from ebay, although I think they do look way too overkill and bright for my liking...Better than OEM i guess though.

    If only I could find out why I only seem to get an error on the dash when its damp/wet out.....
     
  32. I'mRonBurgundy?

    I'mRonBurgundy? Lets make that kitten purr...

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah I remembered that after I put the first one in and nothing happend.
     
  33. glasgowdubber

    glasgowdubber Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    53
    Cheers for this, ordered mines last night so should have them this week.
    Will take pics and post up any problems if/when they arrise
     
  34. glasgowdubber

    glasgowdubber Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    53
    LED's came today guys, just home will be fitted later on and will post some pics up :)
     
  35. kkp0897

    kkp0897 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    751
    Likes Received:
    41
    How's the LEDs? Did you get them fitted?
     
  36. V16

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got some leds without the canbus error, cost me around £16, there not as blue as the pic but it looks great at night!
    can't find the link where i bought them from but will post it as soon as i do.

    [​IMG]
     
  37. luke1987

    luke1987 Air Ride is for Ballers!!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    73
    i bought the ones of convert to xenon website, the same as N8 and they work but this morning on 2 occasions they went out and the dash said the number plate light was out, i turned them off and back on and it cleared. anyone else had similar thing happen to them??
     
  38. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3

    I get the same mate. I bought the same set.

    I emailed them a while back and they said they are now aware they do not work on 05 and 55 plates (im a 55). They offered a refund if I sent them back, but I cant be arsed with it, so just grin and bear them at moment. They dont go out that often for me to get stressed with it.
     
  39. mdre83

    mdre83 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    2
    These are mine...got them from ebay...resistor in each side and no errors, touch wood.

    [​IMG]
     
  40. Pii

    Pii Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    4
    Convert2xenon Support emailed me the following::crying:
    Dear Sir,
    These bulbs work an all vehicles except Audi A3, A4, A6 and A8 after 2005-.
    Unfortunately at the moment we do not have suitable product for your vehicle.

    Very polite and truthful response so hats off to them. Thought I'd share this info to the time/money of other members.

    Might have to take the plunge on te ebay route..... but 40 quid just seems a little pricey! :motz:
     
    #78 Pii, Apr 19, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  41. luke1987

    luke1987 Air Ride is for Ballers!!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    73
    I might just solder a low ohm resistor in, can't do any harm I wouldn't have thought .
     
  42. a3_dan

    a3_dan Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Likes Received:
    3
    let me know how that goes and I will give it a go.
     

Share This Page