1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LED number plate Lights....help!!!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by V16, Mar 27, 2010.

  1. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    I ordered some led lights for the number plate of my car, i was looking for that white light u see on the new BMW number plates etc!

    i went to fit my lights and they looked great, but then when i turned the engine on a warning light saying ''number plate light not working'' or something like that came up, checked the lights and they had stopped working! everytime i turn off the lights then back on they will work for a few seconds then turn off!

    i know theres a way around this but how? any help would be great!


    these are the led's i bought - http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/AUDI-A3-A4-A6-TT-CAR-LED-NUMBER-PLATE-BULBS_W0QQitemZ330351893901QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_CarsParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item4cea81dd8d#ht_2706wt_1167
    #1
  2. luke1987
    Offline

    luke1987 Air Ride is for Ballers!!

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1
    its because they are leds, the computor thinks theres nothing there cos the led takes hardly any power, u need to solder a resistor in with the bulb to trick the computor, there is a thread about led interior lights that will tell u what u need to know :)
    #2
  3. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    Please read the last paragraph of the advert that you bought from. The computer on your car thinks the bulb has gone and switches the power off. Modern cars with 'canbus' systems require a certain amount of current draw in the bulbs for the computer to recognise that they are working. LED bulbs that do not have ballast resistors present a much lower current draw than normal bulbs and the computer thinks the bulb has blown.

    Look for LED bulbs that are advertised as ' no canbus error ' if you want to proceed with the mod., or you need to solder ballast resistors in parallel across the LED's that you have, in order to fool the computer into thinking everything is ok !!
    #3
  4. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok thats great. i might get a friend to solder the resistors as i don't think that will be my specialty. but cheers for your help.

    oh and i've come across these bulbs http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/LED-License-Plate-Lamp-Audi-A3-Q7-A4-RS4-A6-RS6-A8-4E_W0QQitemZ170457100914QQcategoryZ72209QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp4340.m263QQ_trkparmsZalgo%3DDLSL%252BSIC%26its%3DI%26itu%3DUCI%252BIA%252BUA%252BIEW%252BFICS%252BUFI%26otn%3D10%26po%3D%26ps%3D63%26clkid%3D8796704402087461112#ht_6373wt_941

    i dont think it says anything about 'no canbus error' but will these be able to work with no problems?
    #4
  5. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    #5
  6. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah thats great!!! sounds to good to be true after seeing the other ones for like £40+
    oh and sorry my car is a 2006 a3.

    i'll try these out and let you or anyone else who's interested know if they work.

    thanks a lot for your help :)
    #6
  7. mac1403
    Offline

    mac1403 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2005
    Messages:
    972
    Likes Received:
    0
    #7
  8. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers mate but again it says ''Reported exceptions: Some Audi Q7, Audi A3 (2005-), Audi A4 (B7) 2005-2008, Golf MKV, Mercedes Benz W210.''

    no harm tin trying them though but it seems to be a real problem for the a3's!! if they don't work i guess i'll stick with the halogen lights :(

    thanks!
    #8
  9. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sure there's a set that many people have used on here that are fine

    Just trying to find the link now
    #9
  10. smudge_don
    Offline

    smudge_don Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2,945
    Likes Received:
    1
    #10
  11. mike foster
    Offline

    mike foster Fossie

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    3,969
    Likes Received:
    12
    V16 - just to keep you on track - the ones that are fitted as standard are just 'ordinary' bulbs, not Halogens ! And it isn't just a problem with A3's - it's a function of all modern cars with Canbus control systems ! Don't worry, you'll get there in the end !

    Cheers
    #11
  12. V16
    Offline

    V16 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    ah yeah i knew that :think:

    but thanks for the help! hopefully will get some working non-error message bulbs soon!
    #12

Share This Page