1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Led Headlights on pre facelift?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by MixedUp, Jun 8, 2009.

  1. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0

    So what the costs involved ??

    I assume they can be done on NON xenon light;s as mine are standard?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its not happening..

    Quote:
    Originally Posted by cryptic23
    Hi , are they available for the A3 8P yet ?
    If so pm me details please ( UK )
    Hi,

    His answer..

    I am not working on the A3 project
    Phil
    __________________
     
  4. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68
    I saw the posts that you and him where chatting about.

    He upgrades the LED'S.

    Quote:
    B/ I do upgrade any after market headlight with new LED's same as the one used for A.

    Also if you wanted.. you could buy the LED's he sales and try and put them in yourself.
     
  5. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68
    Just Got a price:

    You can purchase the strips themselves for $300 + shipping (+$50 to the UK). Once you made the payment, I will email you a DIY showing how to install them and how to connect them. For information, depending of your headlight setup, Bi-Xenons or Halogens, there is additional hardware required, like resistors and diodes. The DIY provides the part numbers and you can purchase them yourself from the Web or buy a kit from me. Price for this kit is in the DIY. Lead time for this option is 2 to 3 days.
     
  6. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    You must already have lights with led in them. And there is just not a set out there that would look oem and work wihout errors. He simply upgrades the led that are already in your lights.Not sure on the point really if and when there are some that don't blow anything and look right. What's the point in changing the led unless they are really bad. Then there's No point in buying them in the first place.
     
    #205 crypric23, Sep 24, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
  7. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68

    Maybe but the one's that come with the lights r pants:yes:
     
  8. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which ones as I have seen none that look slightly oem
     
  9. PregnantNproud

    PregnantNproud Gears of War

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    3
    His led's are very bright. Not sure its worth the money making the leds brighter thou. It's a tad expensive.

    They are not dim enough in my opinion to warrant spending another $350. And personally i'd prefer to send my headlamps to him.
     
  10. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68

    That's the point ...there are none out there that have the OEM LED'S . that's why this is a good mod..
     
  11. PregnantNproud

    PregnantNproud Gears of War

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    3
    I wonder what type of led's audi use? They are unlike any led i've ever seen in terms of brightness
     
  12. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68
    Very True....If only we can find out what? & where? he gets the LED's from. :think:
     
  13. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    No my point is there Are non regardless of led that look oem that would be worth changing as I said. If there was any that looked oem that actully worked why change the led just to get brighter LEDs. As I stands there none any way. And he can't just add led to genine non led it can only be done to after Market lights. And there are no decent after Market a3 lights.He can not add to genuine lghts.
     
  14. PregnantNproud

    PregnantNproud Gears of War

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yeah i get you. There are no oem look led headlamps. If there was they would look pretty tasty. I don't know why no companies at least arrange the led's in an OEM format although the new a3 apparently has stolen the same led layout a the a5
     
  15. CDNA3er

    CDNA3er New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey guys sorry if i missed it in the thread (i'm and new to the board) but is there a link to the company who makes these or a place where i could get them? since i am in Canada the LHD issue isn't a problem.

    Thanks guys
     
    #214 CDNA3er, Sep 24, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 24, 2009
  16. crypric23

    crypric23 Never satisfied

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's all in the thread ! It's not the lhd or rhd issue. It's the fact that they are issues with errors and blowing wipers.
     
  17. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68

    Are you saying the aftermarket head lights are blowing wipers?
     
  18. PregnantNproud

    PregnantNproud Gears of War

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well the ones i have don't. Dunno bout the rest
     
  19. CDNA3er

    CDNA3er New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    my bad i found the link.

    did you get the errors cleaned up? and what wattage are the HIDs 35w? or higher?

    seems to me 55w blows wiper motors all the time over here in north America.

    since i don't have to convert to RHD are they basically plug and play?

    thanks
     
  20. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68

    I have a H.I.D aftermarket kit on my audi a3 for 5 months and nothing has happend so far. And that's because I have a special box with my kit and both sides of the lights...So no errors or Blown Wiper motors. :sly:
     
  21. PregnantNproud

    PregnantNproud Gears of War

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have no idea what wattage my headlamps are. No instructions or spec. And i did not buy an HID kit.

    They are plug and play, yes. And no, i'm still trying to loose those errors. When it's not looking i'll sneak away... :undwech:

    Digzz, is the HID kit ONLY to convert to ZENON? And what's the special box? It may help stop my error messages coming up...
     
    #220 PregnantNproud, Sep 26, 2009
    Last edited: Sep 26, 2009
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68
    Yes.. the box prevents any error messages coming up..also the wiper motor from blowing...I bought it from the same guy on ebay you bought your lights from. That french Guy. It's a complete H.I.D XENON kit.
     
  24. Ash B

    Ash B Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    5,835
    Likes Received:
    78

    Digz any photos of your car with the H.I.D Xenon kit?
     
  25. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68
  26. PregnantNproud

    PregnantNproud Gears of War

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    3
    if it stops error messages maybe i should get them.

    however, it is ok to use a xenon HID on non xenon headlamps?
     
  27. CDNA3er

    CDNA3er New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, these look like they (your lights) have xenon based projectors (lens), you can still use an HID kit on halogen headlamps (your older headlamps) but its not as effective.
     
  28. Khufu

    Khufu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,704
    Likes Received:
    30
  29. ApcDriver

    ApcDriver New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  30. akbarirfan

    akbarirfan Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
  31. TomHowdle

    TomHowdle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
  32. J.R.

    J.R. "Started From The Bottom"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,406
    Likes Received:
    68
  33. 2192dougl

    2192dougl New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do these work is the high beam daylight white are the drls your sidelights or are they constantly on ?
     
  34. AUDI_ADDICT

    AUDI_ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry to dig up an old thread, but just wondered what peoples opinions are on any of these..??

    FK Headlights Audi A3

    :think:
     
  35. AUDI_ADDICT

    AUDI_ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    10
    Sorry, forget this..just found the other threads :keule:
     

Share This Page