1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD TV as Monitor

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by grathies, Jan 27, 2008.

  1. grathies
    Offline

    grathies More Points Than Portsmouth FC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone else out there using a setup like this?

    Im running my PC thru my 40" Sony Bravia (1080p.... total overkill really but oh well!) using a DVI-HDMI Adaptor

    Running at 1360*768 and all seems to be cool, its only in my bedroom tho so didnt wanna go any bigger really

    Thinking that the TV will be great for the PS3 and 360 Ive got on order as well, kinda new to all this sorta stuff
    #1
  2. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    im running mine through my sony 46" bravia, i used to use my philips before it died on me, but the pictue on the sony is far better
    #2
  3. Nickynibbles
    Offline

    Nickynibbles Damn it where's 7th gear when you need it?!

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    40" in your bedroom?! I hope its a big bedroom else you'll be wasting the tv being so close to it!!

    I've got the Sony KDL40W2000 in the lounge and I wanted some way of hooking up my PC which is in my office upstairs to watch movies etc without having to constantly be burning stuff to disc. Was gonna get a pc-to-tv transmitter but suddenly had an epiphany and now plug my laptop into the tv via the VGA cable port and link to the PC upstairs via the wireless network. Its totally brilliant, and very impressed with the picture quality, much better than a burnt disc at any rate. I have used it a little as the monitor but its way way too big for normal use in my opinion!
    #3
  4. Dan Gliballs
    Offline

    Dan Gliballs Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    3
    My thoughts exactly lol...........the bedroom must be laaaaaaaaaaarge.

    I pondered over a 40" Bravia for our living room, but after following the recommended charts and tables, I opted for the KDL 32D3000 (100hz). Perfect for the room.
    #4
  5. grathies
    Offline

    grathies More Points Than Portsmouth FC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah 40" in the bedroom (as my ex's tho and they will say its more like 7" lol)

    The rooms just the right size, picture quality is spot on when Im laying in bed, I love my films and so far it seems ideal!
    #5
  6. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    This has got me thinking now. I just picked up a 32" phillips lcd and it would be good to have that bad boy hooked up to the computer. Went to currys and picked up another hdmi lead and a hdmi to dvi adaptor but now i need a dvi to vga adaptor lol. Should work once i've got that though.
    #6
  7. 205man
    Offline

    205man Active Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1,018
    Likes Received:
    4
    i thought my 32inch in bedroom was enough, sony say you should sit a minimum of 9ft from a tv if its over 37inch, well that what they advised when i was in the sony centre
    #7
  8. grathies
    Offline

    grathies More Points Than Portsmouth FC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Might be better off going for a different grapics card that has eithter HDMI output or DVI, the more adaptors your using your bound to loose some quality
    #8
  9. grathies
    Offline

    grathies More Points Than Portsmouth FC

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah Im 11ft from it when sat in bed and its amazingly clear

    Finally sorted out my resolution so now have it running at 1080 thru the 1080p, well happy
    #9
  10. Randomjim
    Offline

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yea i just found that out from pc world so i took the adaptors back. I'll have to look into getting a new graphics card then.
    #10
  11. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4
    Keep an eye on your contrast levels though, pc's output such clear images that the contrast can sometimes be so high that it will burn the screen.
    #11
  12. Shades
    Offline

    Shades Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    ?? I only thought image burn happened if there are static images (or portions of) on a screen for far, far too long? I can't see how, on its own, having the contrast high would burn the screen. Perhaps LCDs are different to normal CRTs though...
    #12
  13. Caesium
    Offline

    Caesium My BM is fixed!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,879
    Likes Received:
    4

    ANY
    screen will suffer from screen burn, and the image does not have to be static for long if the contrast levels are exceptionally high as they are on DVI or VGA(RGB) inputs.

    Just think of the start button and the taskbar, they sit idle for ages on most pc screens...
    #13
  14. Shades
    Offline

    Shades Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    583
    Likes Received:
    0
    Personally I've yet to see any screen burnt with the start/task bar. The only screens I've ever seen with burnt in images are at airports and train stations. By rights then my screen should be emblazoned with PowerDVD across it by now... I dread to count the amount of times I've fallen asleep watching a film only for the PowerDVD "columns" image to be left on-screen for hours on end when the film has finished... last night being one of them... It had to be there for 8 hours at least (I never bother with a screen saver either!).
    #14
  15. Katha
    Offline

    Katha New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    and dont forget that pc monitors run at higher res than HD the 3007WFP (the dell 30 inch thats quite affordable) has a a resolution of 2560 x 1600

    ime looking at the new gt8800's
    #15
  16. Bong Water
    Offline

    Bong Water In two minds

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2007
    Messages:
    786
    Likes Received:
    0
    A PC monitor will always display a cleaner crisper image than a TV

    Its ok if your not to fussed but for gaming a decent monitor wins everytime
    #16
  17. d3sbo
    Offline

    d3sbo New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a 46" running 1920*1080 using an ati 4870 gpu on HDMI cpu is a q6600 @ 3.6 Mhz and it will paly any game at 1080p
    #17

Share This Page