1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

LCD Speedo Cluster/Gauges

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by newbridgejob, Jul 24, 2009.

  1. newbridgejob
    Offline

    newbridgejob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 24, 2009]
    Hi all,

    I've got a 1997 1.6 A3 which has the standard speedo cluster without the little LCD display screen.

    I was wondering if it was possible to replace this speedo with one from the other models which does have an LCD display.. Obviously i'd get one from an 8L Audi and with the same engine code etc..

    If anyone's got an idea it'd be a great help

    Cheers
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. newbridgejob
    Offline

    newbridgejob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. rik_t2005
    Offline

    rik_t2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2009]
    id like 2 do the same so if you find anything out let my know my mate got the lcd mite ask if i can take her out and try it in mine:redrs4:
    #3
  5. newbridgejob
    Offline

    newbridgejob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 31, 2009]
    Yeah i will do- I'd appreciate if you could do the same and let me know if it works. I have had the clusters out before in my A4 its really easy just 2 torx screws

    Cheers
    #4
  6. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Aug 1, 2009]
    I cant see it working to be fair lads. The DIS supplies all sort of info which I doubt a non DIS car will have feeds for etc.

    I wouldnt say its impossible...but it would cost a fortune to retro fir them.
    #5
  7. newbridgejob
    Offline

    newbridgejob New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 3, 2009]
    Yeah i was thinking that aswell but you never know because surely the ECU is set up the same??

    If it can't be done then fair enough. I just hate the clocks without the LCD display that's all, looks naff.
    #6

Share This Page