1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Launch control s3

Discussion in 'New A3/S3 (8V Chassis)' started by paullowther, Oct 6, 2013.

  1. paullowther

    paullowther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    445
    Has anybody any experience with launch control in the s3? How does it work & does it work well?
     
  2. Daveotto

    Daveotto Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,107
    Likes Received:
    485
    Someone posted a u tube clip, maybe in the main S3 thread, a couple of weeks back of someone using launch control in an S3 and it's pretty epic to the extent that the driver was taken quite by surprise.
     
    paullowther likes this.
  3. paullowther

    paullowther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    445
    Yeah I saw that video, looked good!

    I still don't understand how you actually engage the launch control function though, do you have to press a button or what?!
     
  4. Richyboyp

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    Paul it's in your handbook.
    Turn off TC select dynamic. select D then put your left foot on the brake and floor the accelerator. Assuming you have S Tronic
    Release the brake and away you go. Make sure handbrake is off too obviously :)
     
  5. 97catalunya

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    I think it's in the book under the S-Tronic section? I think you press and hold the traction control button a number of times then depress the brake and then the throttle, the revs limit at something like 3500rpm, then let go of the brake to launch!

    Or something like that anyway? I will be giving it a go once fully run in lol. Ok I only have the 1.8 not an S3 but it should still give a good kick up the backside ;)
     
  6. paullowther

    paullowther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    445
    I don't have my car yet guys so I can't check the user guide! Scheduled build week of 46!
     
  7. JohnM100

    JohnM100 Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    303
    I think launch control is only available on the 6 speed wet clutch s-tronic so 1.8T Quattro (not 1.8T FWD) and above.

    Can't remember if you have Quattro.

    John.
     
  8. Richyboyp

    Richyboyp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    23
    I've got a 1.8 Quattro and it has launch control. Works a treat :)
     
  9. Dylock

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    64
    I have the s3 stronic and I can confirm it is epic and very addictive ;)

    As above, turn off tc I turn off start/stop too but not needed. Hold brake peddle with left foot, flat out on throttle with right. Revs are held just over 4000rpm, release the brake and don't crash. I leave it in manual but you can do it in auto I believe.
     
  10. 97catalunya

    97catalunya Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    161
    No Quattro here :( never mind it will save me eating clutches I guess lol
     
  11. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    124
    do you think it will work with the 2.0 TDI 184 Quattro S tronic then ?
     
  12. RobH_S3

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    187
    Mate tested an S3 couple of weeks ago with launch control and only had 170 miles on the clock and no doubt crappy fuel.

    With a Vbox same as they use in the magazines.

    0-60 4.7s
    0-100 10.9s
    30-130 19s

    :racer:
     
    paullowther likes this.
  13. JohnM100

    JohnM100 Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    303
    According to the manual yes, but I don't know how it would behave in real world given the power delivery characteristics of the diesel.

    John.
     
  14. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    124
    I hope it will !

    maybe it's for that reason they can get a 6.8s 0-62 !
     
    #14 snowfree52, Oct 8, 2013
    Last edited: Oct 8, 2013
  15. geefunk1978

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    404
    Christ that's quick, was worried my Stage 1 8P S3 would be quicker but not now!!!
     
  16. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    124
    your stage 1 must be around 300-310 hp, no ?
     
  17. geefunk1978

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    404
    Yep Shark Stage 1, 310ish.
    There's no way it does 0-100 in 10.9 secs tho!
     
  18. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    124
    is yours a manual ?
     
  19. geefunk1978

    geefunk1978 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    404
    Yep it's a manual. It's quick, but not that quick.
     
  20. RobH_S3

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    187
    It will be quicker still once ran in and on decent petrol. It does have a decent weight advantage over the 8p aswell though.
     
  21. Toadoftoadhall

    Toadoftoadhall Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    299
    Likes Received:
    80
    Is there any limit to number of launches you can do? I recall from somewhere on internet that more than 3 launches between services can invaildate warranty? Can anyone with the handbook shed any light?
     
  22. snowfree52

    snowfree52 Full LED baby !

    Joined:
    May 27, 2013
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    124
    Wasn't That for the Ferrari Enzo ? Or maybe you had to replace the clutch ? :detective2:
     
  23. JohnM100

    JohnM100 Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2013
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    303
    If that was the case then am sure it would be in bold text somewhere. However I have no doubt that you'd get through a clutch pretty quickly.
     
  24. paullowther

    paullowther Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    445
    Damn, I was planning on launch controlling it out of my driveway every morning to work.
     
  25. Dylock

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    64
    I've done at least 15 so far. At no point have I been told that there is a problem with it affecting warranty or burning clutch out early.
     
  26. RobH_S3

    RobH_S3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    187
    You'll probably burn a manual clutch out quickly but them s-tronic clutches don't even flinch if the older S3 and golf R's are anything to go by, even on highly modified cars!
     
  27. Dylock

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    64
    Not that I know much about the stronic box, in a manual the clutch normally goes early from not be used correctly ie excessive slipping, riding the clutch ect. If looked after you can still pull away quickly but it will last for years and years.

    Surely because the stronic is computer controlled excessive slipping will not happen?
     
  28. thattr

    thattr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi guys!!i have an issue sometimes with launch control, when I hold the break pedal and push the throttle with my right foot, the rpm don't reach to 4000 rpm but around 1200 rpm. Anyone with the same issue?
     
  29. Dylock

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    64
    I expect that you didn't set it up correctly. I have found that if you press the throttle to soon after the brake that can happen.
     
  30. thattr

    thattr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the reply!!i will try and let you know!!
     
  31. RYuill

    RYuill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    280
    Also if you don't press hard enough of the brake pedal
     
  32. S3118

    S3118 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    20
    lt does state in the handbook that launch control can add more ware to the gear box & use with care..
     
  33. Dylock

    Dylock Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    64
    That's why it's limited to 200 launches
     
  34. Dtwm1

    Dtwm1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2014
    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    105
    Correct me if I wrong but that's not true on the s3. From what others have said you launch over and over again a warning appears on the dis and it won't launch till its cooled down.
     
  35. elpaulio

    elpaulio Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    182
    You need to bury the brake pedal not just apply the brakes and leave a second or two between doing this and burying the throttle.
    Otherwise it gets all confused and just mushes around at 1200 revs and does nothing but wears the clutch down for no fun lol

    Oh, and it works better if you completely switch ESP OFF rather than just in Sport mode as I found out today ;)

    Checklist goes:
    Stop/Start - Disabled
    ESP - OFF
    Gearbox - S or Manual
    Bury Brake Pedal
    Bury Throttle
    At 4k RPM let go of brake pedal
    Grin like a Goon! :D
     
    RYuill and Liquidfusion-S3 like this.
  36. gtiller

    gtiller Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yep, there are two stages to the traction control - you need to press and hold to disengage it fully ;-)

    I also do the same for driving in snow (with disabling the traction control, not launch) - makes a mockery of BMW drivers all marooned along the side of the road!!! LOL

    Launch control in the snow... that would be scarrrrrrryyy!!!!!
     
  37. Liquidfusion-S3

    Liquidfusion-S3 I fall to peer pressure!

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    514
    Does it need to be in dynamic mode for drive select?
     
  38. elpaulio

    elpaulio Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    182
    No I don't think it doe, the box just needs to be in S. I normally run around in Individual settings but will try it in Eco with the box in S and see :D
     
    Liquidfusion-S3 likes this.
  39. Liquidfusion-S3

    Liquidfusion-S3 I fall to peer pressure!

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1,301
    Likes Received:
    514
    Any excuse to LC huh? Lol
     
  40. elpaulio

    elpaulio Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    182
    Well I tried on the way in to work today but couldn't get it to go up past 1200rpm.
    Engine was never warm though (i hasten to add that I wasn't going to launch it cold, was just trying to see if it would get past 1200 and therefore would launch :p) so that may be another limiting factor on launching.

    Either that or my car had enough of it yesterday and doesn't want to do it again lol :jester::jester:
     

Share This Page