1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Laptop Help Needed!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by ScottishS3, Jun 16, 2013.

  1. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Hello All!

    All of a sudden my laptop has started freezing up all the time and being really slow. This even happens when doing a simple task with nothing going on in the background. I have defragged the hard drives etc but nothing seems to have worked. I have a little CPU monitor programme and it shows my laptop running at 100% virtually all the time. I have my laptop on a cooling pad all the time so it stays nice and cool and I have the CPU running at a limit of 90%.
    I have 89GB of free on the hard drive.

    My laptop is an HP Pavilion DV6 and it has an AMD Turion(tm) x2 Dual -Core Mobile RM-74 2.20Ghz Processor and has 3GB of RAM and running Windows Vista 32 Bit.
    Is there anything I can do or can I upgrade it? If I upgrade the RAM, will that work? and will that wipe everything on my laptop?

    I appreciate any help anybody can give me.

    Many Thanks in advance.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    My i7 2.2g viao was running like that and a bios update fixed it.
    #2
  4. vivalacoulter
    Offline

    vivalacoulter Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Try starting in safe mode and running malwarebytes or spybot search and destroy.
    #3
  5. Alex C
    Online

    Alex C Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2,664
    Likes Received:
    159
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    no
    #4
  6. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Are they free programs? Where can you get them from? Thanks
    #5
  7. vivalacoulter
    Offline

    vivalacoulter Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Yeah they're free, can easily be found on Google mate. :icon_thumright:
    #6
  8. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Will upgrading the RAM to something like 8GB make it faster? Also how do I find out which one will work with my laptop?
    Thanks
    #7
  9. vivalacoulter
    Offline

    vivalacoulter Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    #8
    HullRs3, azman and ScottishS3 like this.
  10. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    #9
  11. vivalacoulter
    Offline

    vivalacoulter Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    You can upgrade to windows 8, could be worth you raining your local tech to sort it all out for you.
    #10
  12. Les 51
    Offline

    Les 51 A pint of Diesel please!

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    #11
    ScottishS3 likes this.
  13. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Thanks mate!!! I'm going to get 2x 4GB Ram and hopefully the laptop will fun alot faster. I need 64bit Windows though I think so might as well update to Windows 8.
    Does anybody know of this is easy to do once I buy the disc? Do I have to uninstall Vista or does it upgrade?

    Thanks
    #12
  14. vivalacoulter
    Offline

    vivalacoulter Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    My advice would be watch a YouTube tutorial if possible, but I think there's a way you can simply pop the disc in and upgrade while keeping your stuff. But usually you should do a whole fresh install.
    #13
  15. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    Thanks for the great advice so far guys! I'm abit of a biff with computers as you can see!
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2013
    #14
  16. phil_w
    Offline

    phil_w Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    13
    [Jun 16, 2013]
    If you are getting random freezes and slow performance it's definitely worth getting the hard drive checked out. If its having trouble reading/writing then even the simplest action can take an age making the machine look like its stalled...

    Nothing worse than embarking on a series of upgrades only to find that the hard drive is dying making everything else pretty pointless :)

    Just speaking from years of hard drive bad luck experience...
    #15
  17. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    Looks like I had some adware **** on there. Trying to get rid of then with the program's above but they seem to stall
    #16
  18. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,808
    Likes Received:
    391
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    You could consider an ssd hard drive, they're amazing! I put one in my laptop and the Mrs imac, it's made a huge difference to performance on both. I guess it all depends on how difficult it is to access your hdd slot in your laptop though.
    #17
  19. JudderMan
    Online

    JudderMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    115
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    After the above spyware tools listed above, run ComboFix Download Combofix on it. It's the only program that can find stubborn viruses/spyware. And then definitely upgrade your RAM, it will be like night and day.
    #18
    Ads likes this.
  20. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    Yeah but the SSD have very low GB capacity and HUGE price. I have tried the two above programs, but they seem to find malware but then stop working when I request them to be removed! GRRRR.......
    #19
  21. dbm
    Offline

    dbm Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    116
    [Jun 17, 2013]
    #20
  22. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    579
    [Jun 18, 2013]
    This^^^^^^

    And you'll probably also find that running combofix frees up loads of disc space you didn't even know you were using.
    #21
  23. JudderMan
    Online

    JudderMan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    804
    Likes Received:
    115
    [Jun 18, 2013]
    Six Hogbolins and I still think you've been drinking to be agreeing with me about the OP's thread...it's an odd feeling ;)
    #22
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 18, 2013]
    1st thing to check in these events of 100% cpu is to check task manager & processes to see what's running at high cpu, memory is irrelevant until you find out what's hugging the processor.

    If its an svchost, then you need to expand this by downloading processexplorer.exe from Microsoft, this will tell you what each svchost is actually running in the background aswell as show all processes running, when you can see what's hanging everything, you can search online for common things eg. "xxxx at 100% cpu" xxx being the process running.

    Combofix is 1 to try after a proper malwarebytes/antivirus scan aswell as a rootkit scanner I cant recall the name of right now.

    If its malware/rootkit etc which wont delete automatically, then try this site which is very good usually for info on removal:

    Bleeping Computer Technical Support Forums

    Also if it wont delete automatically with scanning software, 1st backup your files, then disable system restore as some hide in the restore backup data & auto reinstall themselves when software finds them in C: & removes that instance, only to be replaced by a new copy from restore data.

    Logical process just needed for these things, I don't miss doing this kind of work that's for sure, for people that just don't listen lol.

    As for memory, only look at this when you know whats causing cpu high & fixed, then maybe consider an HDD upgrade aswell & tbh mate, a Samsung 840 256GB ssd pro which runs at about 500MB read/write (if sata3 controller fitted), is about £130 these days which is cheap & 3 x your current one, very good drive & low power consumption & shock proof being solid state as such.
    #23
    ScottishS3 likes this.
  25. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Thanks guys! It seems to be my CPU that is running at 97% and my RAM at 56%.
    #24
  26. vivalacoulter
    Offline

    vivalacoulter Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2013
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    22
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Go on to task manager, then processes, and see what's using all the cpu
    #25
  27. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    As for HDDs, I'm runnung a 287GB (don't know the exact capacity) hard drive with 91GB free.
    I have seen replacement 1TB hard drives for £65 and 250GB SSD Drives for £149. Now my head is telling me the 1TB would be the best to go for but what is the best one? I save alot of stuff on my external portable hard drives.
    #26
  28. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    See post 23 :p
    #27
  29. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Scottish, forget the hdd atm, fix the problem 1st, 96GB is plenty left atm, you probably have a load of temp files that could be deleted removing some space aswell, sometimes this alone can be several GB, adding more GB wont fix your high cpu problems.

    If its difficult for you to resolve, then setup logmein account using the free version which has a pro trial, then I could maybe login quickly & see what's hogging the cpu
    #28
  30. sliced
    Offline

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    260
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Hi mate do the usual virus scan, malwarebytes scan, hijack this scan, check drivers are installed properly
    #29
  31. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Thanks guys. Will do.
    #30
  32. sliced
    Offline

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,257
    Likes Received:
    260
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    hi mate just make sure you do this so it should lag a lot less,

    Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Performance Information and Tools

    then on left click adjust visual affects, choose adjust for best performance, then click okay. restart pc, then run the scans. Makes it a lot easier.
    #31
  33. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    [​IMG]
    #32
  34. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,766
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    buy my viao?! LOL
    #33
  35. Patrick_c99
    Offline

    Patrick_c99 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Well half you trouble is windows vista. We're abouts are you based?
    #34
  36. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Elgin. Whats the problem with Vista?
    #35
  37. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Well I have run malwarebytes or spybot search and destroy on every setting from safe mode to best performance and they both just fail to initiate after finding 'adwares'.
    #36
  38. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Tried that one and my CPU went down to 0.8% being used. Put it back up 'let windows decide whats best' and it went up to 98%-100% of the CPU being used!!!
    #37
  39. Patrick_c99
    Offline

    Patrick_c99 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    11
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Vista is the most unstable, unreliable version of windows ever created.

    It drains computer resources just being left on and not doing anything. The coding is messy which makes it slow
    #38
  40. ScottishS3
    Offline

    ScottishS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,524
    Likes Received:
    185
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    Thanks! I do remember hearing that it had some kind of problem. Is it better updating to something like Windows 8 64bit? Where can I get one from and how easy would it be to upgrade?
    #39
  41. jojo
    Online

    jojo S3 Drift King! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,132
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    [Jun 23, 2013]
    So glad I skipped Vista, my desktop is still running Windows XP with very few issues, latest laptops all running Windows7, which has been good to me. Not a fan of 8 though.
    #40

Share This Page