1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lag

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Stormcatcher, May 27, 2004.

  1. Stormcatcher
    Offline

    Stormcatcher Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone got any ideas, I'm getting a lag (not always but sometimes around 3500 I press down and nothing happens. Cars been playing up quite a bit. Xenons were pointing skyward the other day. Stereo kept cutting out. Taking it to the dealer today.
    #1
  2. Mike.M
    Online

    Mike.M Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,633
    Likes Received:
    63
    I get this sometimes...........but usually when the engine is quite hot.............it feels like the turbo does not spin up.........then bang away we go!
    #2
  3. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    yeah im getting that to...bit worried! and [censored] off!
    #3
  4. excursion
    Offline

    excursion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh dear, this problem can be a swine to diagnose. It can be a number of things and a few inter-related problems rearing their ugly heads.

    A VAG-COM and boost gauge are required chaps.
    #4
  5. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    A VAG-COM? Is this a test or a unit i buy? sorry if this is a stupid question?
    #5
  6. excursion
    Offline

    excursion Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Messages:
    740
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it is mate, not a stupid question at all. It's diagnostic software that runs on a PC, and can interrogate all of the car's systems. It will show a fault code if there is a problem with any of the systems.
    #6
  7. Add7
    Offline

    Add7 Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2004
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh great, do i have to buy it myself? or can i take it somewhere to be done as i dont want to fiddle and F@;k up my car completely? but if i have to buy then il give it a go?
    #7

Share This Page