1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Knock sensors

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by AudiiduA, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. AudiiduA
    Offline

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Hi all, had my s3 on vagcom today, needed a new MAF and a knock sensor! how hard is the knock sensor to fit? pics would be good as cars gone into limp mode:(
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. finesse
    Offline

    finesse Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,811
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    can not find a pictures now but its around the inlet mani
    #2
  4. AudiiduA
    Offline

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Mines AMK, i believe theres 2?? is this correct? i know where they are just looks a pain....
    #3
  5. imraans3
    Offline

    imraans3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 21, 2011]
    Pm'd ya matey
    #4
  6. Agric04
    Offline

    Agric04 Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Mar 22, 2011]
    This may or may not help you. I had a real issue with my knock sensors about 2 years ago. Vagcom kept identifying one of the knock sensors as faulty. Had the car at various garages trying to resolve issue and changed the faulty knock sensor twice before giving up and taking mine to the stealers. Turned out that the faulty knock sensor for me was the one that vagcom wasn't picking up as the good knock sensor was doing it's job and logging the fault. So if you change your knock sensor and still get faults try changing the other one too. Worked for me.
    #5
  7. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Mar 22, 2011]
    Can also be wiring related, so check out the connections, and look for broken wires before parting with cash.

    Knock sensor is easy to change if you need to - they are both on the face of the block.

    Make sure you do them up to the correct torque - 20 nm rings a bell but don't quote me on that.
    #6
  8. AudiiduA
    Offline

    AudiiduA Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 22, 2011]
    Its coming up with no 1 sensor! is that the left or right one??
    #7
  9. LD3
    Offline

    LD3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 23, 2011]
    Mine had a knock sensor fault-turned out to be some wriring and not the sensor itself.
    #8

Share This Page