1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

knock sensor 2 issue's

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3 TAM, Aug 18, 2013.

  1. S3 TAM
    Offline

    S3 TAM Pocket now empty

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    Hello All,

    I'm back after not posting for some time. Just been enjoying the S3 until now.

    For the past few months i've been getting VCDS error

    16717/P0333/000819 - Knock Sensor 2 (G66): Signal too High

    Possible Symptoms


    • Engine Damage
    [h=4]Possible Causes[/h]
    • Knock Sensor 2 (G66) improperly torqued
    [h=4]Possible Solutions[/h]
    • Torque Knock Sensor 2 (G66) to specifications
    • Check Knock Sensor 2 (G66) and Knock Control

    I tried every thing the vcds wiki page has said from checking the torque to replacing the sensor this leaves one thing left

    ENGINE DAMAGE

    What could this be? something in the bottom end about to give up?

    Is it time for me the put the large port head on the motor that i've had sitting in my garage for 1 1/2 years?

    this brings me to my next question which i think i already know the answer too. "don't shoot me down for this"

    Would you buy this off ebay

    for Audi S3 A4 TT 1.8T VW Golf Gti Con Rod Conrod H-beam Connecting Rod Rods ARP | eBay

    Money's tight at the min saving for a house and a wedding... silly me i know, but if im gonna change the head i might as well do the bottom end or vice versa.

    cheers in advance.


    [FONT=Arial, Trebuchet MS, sans-serif, Georgia, Courier, Times New Roman, serif]
    [/FONT]
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 18, 2014]

  3. S3 TAM
    Offline

    S3 TAM Pocket now empty

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    ohh forgot to ask would running a large port head on standard rods be ok?

    if money wasn't an object hey.
    #2
  4. S3 TAM
    Offline

    S3 TAM Pocket now empty

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2009
    Messages:
    624
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,426
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    #4
  6. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,426
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    [Aug 18, 2013]
    Those rods aren't rifle drilled so tbh I wouldn't touch them personally... I would also not bother with a large port head unless going north of 350hp...

    <tuffty/>
    #5
  7. Vex182
    Offline

    Vex182 Guess what I drive...

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    995
    Likes Received:
    72
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    I've got the same code but in knock sensor 1 at the minute, I'm hoping its just a loose sensor and not the cable. For the first 30 seconds of driving, the car feels rough and underpowered but then disappears and the car drives great! If the car is up to temp then the car drives complete fine when restarted, I guess it is related to this one code.
    #6
  8. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,426
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    Yeah, if the ECU thinks it can't see knock as the sensor is playing up or if the signal is not as expected then it will pull timing out and you will lose torque...

    <tuffty/>
    #7
  9. Westy
    Offline

    Westy Double Dark Side! Diesel & 8P

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    17,345
    Likes Received:
    990
    [Aug 19, 2013]
    she'll murder you!
    #8

Share This Page