Kjet conversion

Alright chaps... Im a bit of a noob here so bear with me. Ive just had the AA out to deal with my dodgy 2B carb, which desperately needs replacing... so I thought /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif it, I might as well bin the carb engine as its past its sell by date really. Question is, how difficult is it going to be to change the engine to a kjet equipped engine? The fuel system looks identicaly to the golf engine, the only difference I can see is the fact that the audi doesnt have a lift pump, its gravity fed IIRC. Any suggestions as to parts I will need for the conversion, and any areas I should be particularly pay attention to? The cars a 1982 80 1.6 GL FYI!! Thanks guys, appreciated /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

They are all the newer shaped ones. Mines a mk2. TBH I cant see the complications, Kjet involves hardly any wiring, and will fit, as the 1.8 models used the same fuel injection

If you use the original K-Jetronic, then you would need a high pressure fuel pump (around 3.5 - 4 bar pressure and above a certain flow rate), as well as the fuel distributor/air metering unit. Obviously you would also need to change the whole inlet manifold/throttle assembly to accomodate this system. You may also need a different cylinder head, depending of whether or not yours can accomodate the injectors?

(there may also be complications with compression ratio's???)

If you are planning on using the later KE-Jetronic or KEIII-Jetronic, then you are going to need the computers that control the whole setup, all the sensors as well as a complete ignition system, as both these systems are controlled by the ECU from signals received from the various sensors.
Only the old K-Jetronic system is completely mechanical.

My own advice to you is listen to Rev-head, and rather get yourself a later car that already has injection! (That is very good advice!!!)