1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Kjet conversion

Discussion in 'Classic Audi Forum' started by , Apr 3, 2005.

1. Online

[Apr 3, 2005]
    Alright chaps... Im a bit of a noob here so bear with me. Ive just had the AA out to deal with my dodgy 2B carb, which desperately needs replacing... so I thought /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/swear.gif it, I might as well bin the carb engine as its past its sell by date really. Question is, how difficult is it going to be to change the engine to a kjet equipped engine? The fuel system looks identicaly to the golf engine, the only difference I can see is the fact that the audi doesnt have a lift pump, its gravity fed IIRC. Any suggestions as to parts I will need for the conversion, and any areas I should be particularly pay attention to? The cars a 1982 80 1.6 GL FYI!! Thanks guys, appreciated /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
  2. Ads

Ads

[Oct 21, 2014]

3. Rev-head

Rev-head Active Member

[Apr 3, 2005]
  4. Online

[Apr 4, 2005]
    They are all the newer shaped ones. Mines a mk2. TBH I cant see the complications, Kjet involves hardly any wiring, and will fit, as the 1.8 models used the same fuel injection
  5. audi5e

audi5e Member

[Apr 4, 2005]
    If you use the original K-Jetronic, then you would need a high pressure fuel pump (around 3.5 - 4 bar pressure and above a certain flow rate), as well as the fuel distributor/air metering unit. Obviously you would also need to change the whole inlet manifold/throttle assembly to accomodate this system. You may also need a different cylinder head, depending of whether or not yours can accomodate the injectors?

(there may also be complications with compression ratio's???)