1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Keys

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by ScottD3, Nov 29, 2011.

  1. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Looking at my 3 button for my 98 B5 I noticed the mhz and for a bit of fun I did a ebay search for that mhz.
    Some normal 3 buttons keys came up and then a couple of new style A3 keys was found.

    Am I right in thinking thats it just the MHZ that determine if the key will work my car or is there more?
    #1
  2. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Ok, bit more information and some reading.

    My keys frequency is 433mhz, I assume if I pick up any other VAG with the same frequency that should work with my car?
    The blade and Immob chipping swapping would be needed as well.

    Going by a thread on MKivs, 433 and 434 keys will work.
    Any one know for sure or got any more information on this?
    #2
  3. Foxmeister
    Offline

    Foxmeister Fired Up!

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,779
    Likes Received:
    4
    Cant add to this but interested also Scott, as i have a solid type key and would like to get a flip type.
    #3
  4. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    sod it, I bought, what I think is 433mhz 8P key or a B7, I'm not sure but its 433mhz and on it way. Wish me luck.

    Foxy Goldfish, there is loads of B5 2 and 3 button keys on ebay, pick your self one up or I can send you my old one if this works.
    #4
  5. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    76
    I tried to go from fixed blade to flip on my A8. I managed to get the flip remote to work on unlocking the car with no problems, just programmed with one original key in ignition and and flip in door pressing buttons etc (posted instructions not too long ago in this thread!)

    The flip would unlock/lock the car, however, it wouldnt start using the flip key. The immo part works differently between the two keys.
    #5
  6. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    the immob chip will need coding on the new key or you swap the immob chip over.
    I've never seen a blade key, so don't know if immob chip can be removed.
    #6
  7. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    76
    Couldn't code the flip key as (iirc) the flip key transmits a different (rolling) code each time the car is started. Where as the fixed bladed key has a single (fixed) code for the immo.

    I couldn't see of anyway of changing it over. I did it have it written down in a forum but it was in 2007 and is no longer there for me to find. It was over on tyresmoke forum.

    Not sure how you would get the newer A3 keys to work with the A4 though, isn't it a different immo setup on those? i.e. immo 3?

    Dan
    #7
  8. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    I think it is but thats just to do with the Immob chip.
    My thinking is to remove the immob chip from the new key and replace it with my old immob chip.

    Its a B7 chip but it shows that the Immob chip has not changed since the B5s.
    [​IMG]

    the remote frequancy is the same. Unless Audi changes the information it sends, I can't see it not working,.
    #8
  9. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Got the key this morning and been trying to program it but no luck.

    I've follow this procedure.
    Remote Control Programming (1997 ON)
    Procedure
    1. Switch Ignition ON and leave key in the ignition.
    2. Mechanically lock the vehicle using the Drivers door using a second key
    3. Using the remote control press the Unlock button once, and the horn will sound once.
    4. Wait 6 seconds and press the unlock button once to activate the coding procedure. The remote control will now be programmed.
    Note: When performing programming on additional remotes the procedure is exactly the same, except you press the unlock button 2, 3 or 4 times for different remote.
    For example: If programming 2 remotes press the unlock button twice with a 1 second interval between each press, repeat for 3 and 4 remotes.
    5. Switch ignition OFF.
    6. Remove key from ignition and check for operation.
    7. The coding procedure can be repeated up to 4 times for additional remotes.
    8. The ignition must be switched OFF between programming each remote control.



    Is there any other procedure or one to do it with a single key?
    I searched and came across the one above, I'm not looking for the VCDS procedure.
    #9
  10. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    This one for VCDS?

    Channel 021: Remote Control Matching

    [Select]
    [46 - Comfort System]
    [Adaptation - 10]
    Channel 021.
    [Read]

    * Choose the memory position you want the new key be matched on by entering it's number (e.g. "3" for memory positon 3).

    [Test]

    * Now press any button on the remote you want to match.
    * The meas. block field above will change from Not Recogn. to Recognized.

    [Save]

    [Done, Go Back]
    [Close Controller, Go Back - 06]

    Note: You can check the current memory positions using Meas. Block 007.
    #10
  11. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,495
    Likes Received:
    299
    Your first set of instructions should work, but you do need two keys, one in the ignition, coded to the immo, and the other to lock the car from the outside. The one for the outside doesnt need to be coded, it just needs to be able to lock the doors.
    #11
  12. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Is there any reason for it to be in the door, apart from it to lock it?

    I ask cause I never swapped the blades over.
    I used the key thats coded to the current clocks in the ignition.
    The spare 3 button key in the drivers door, locked the car and then used the 3rd newer key to press the button.
    I followed the instructions but nothing happened with the car but when I took the 2nd key out of the drivers door and pressed the unlock button, nothing happened.
    #12
  13. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    76
    Try swapping the blades for your spare key to the new key and try again?!
    #13
  14. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    I'm just doing that now and the blades are different sizes.

    Old style key blade:=-
    50.7mm FRom end to end.
    2.2mm thick.

    New style key blade:=-
    46.3mm From end to end.
    1.9mm thick

    time to try something else.

    Edit:=-
    The try something else idea was to swap over the hole flip mech,
    The buttons, spring and big chunky bit that the blade locks in to from the old key to the new key. That failed cause thats the wrong size as well.
    Back with getting the old blade in to the new key. That won't work either, cause the blade is to long to fit in side the key recess.
    Options for the blade is to cut it down or buy the new style blade and get it cut.
    But all that is a bit irrelevant until I can program the key to car.

    I did what Dan suggest to a point (wedge the old blade in to the key so I could turn the lock) and tried again.
    Followed the instructions and I got 1 indicator flash after pressing the button 3 time to code the 3rd key and then nothing........I hate coding keys!!!!
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2011
    #14
  15. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    76
    try coding it to number 4? pressing 4 times?
    #15
  16. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    yeah, same thing. flashed once and nothing.
    #16
  17. S4_dan
    Offline

    S4_dan Fire up the Quattro!

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,727
    Likes Received:
    76
    Can you not remove any pre-programmed keys via vcds and reprogram them? Just dont remove the 1st key in case you cant reprogram any?
    #17
  18. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    Thats what i'm going to do soon as my friend is free with copy of VCDS.
    I will get my own at some point.
    #18
  19. Arrkon
    Online

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    75
    erm, scott. if you still have my cable you can do it with that?
    #19
  20. ScottD3
    Offline

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,081
    Likes Received:
    1,007
    But its all wrapped up really nicely like...I guess I could, I'll try and get a windows laptop.
    I don't have one at the moment.


    EDIT:=- I went out today and found out that one of my keys is no longer registered to the car. Rubbish!!
    It might work after all.
    #20

Share This Page