1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

K04 turbo, difference between APY and BAM engines?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Dubstep, Jun 6, 2011.

  1. Dubstep
    Offline

    Dubstep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    Hi, well basically i want to put a new turbo on my S3, ive spoken to audi and there are 2 separate part numbers for the K04's, one for the APY engines and one for the BAM ect.

    The question is: what is the difference between the two?
    can i fit a the turbo from a BAM to my APY?

    I asked the audi stealer and they couldnt tell me :( all they asked is if my car has ESP, which it does.

    Any advice/help would be much appreciated.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 22, 2014]

  3. bazil
    Offline

    bazil BOOM BOOM

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    the K04 isnt exactly a new turbo, infact it was also fitted to the C20LET vauxhall engine so it may just be a case of updated fittment, i cant see any performance gains.
    #2
  4. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    I think one has an EGT sensor and the other doesn't, APY's are narrowbands, BAM's are wideband
    #3
  5. bazil
    Offline

    bazil BOOM BOOM

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    noob question but whats the difference between narrow and wide band?
    #4
  6. Dubstep
    Offline

    Dubstep Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    i dont think you understand what im asking :/
    i wish to replace my current "old/worn" K04 with a brand spanking new one.
    all i wish to know is why audi use different part number for apy and bam codes, and will they fit one another?
    #5
  7. Mpathe
    Offline

    Mpathe 1st gear

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    yes you can fit one from a bam and just block the hole for the egt up
    #6
  8. Lee172
    Offline

    Lee172 GT3071

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    431
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    Have you not thought about getting your one reconditioned/rebuilt? Maybe cheaper.
    #7
  9. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    [Jun 6, 2011]
    See sandips post. That's your answer.
    #8
  10. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Jun 7, 2011]
    Yep APY has no hole for the EGT
    #9
  11. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,392
    Likes Received:
    736
    [Jun 7, 2011]
    Whats Danes engine code?
    it has egt.. and was 210 car
    #10
  12. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,382
    Likes Received:
    60
    [Jun 7, 2011]
    AMK? Mine's a 210, AMK with egt
    #11
  13. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    1,169
    [Jun 7, 2011]
    Mine too amk with egt
    #12
  14. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 7, 2011]
    me to AMK
    #13
  15. beachbuggy
    Offline

    beachbuggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,767
    Likes Received:
    140
    [Jun 7, 2011]
    Apy's are narrow band, have no egt.

    Amk and bam are wideband and have egt's

    For those that are interested, narrowband works by the air fuel mixture being lean, stoich or rich. Where wide band works on a 1-24 scale with 14.1 being stoich it's far more accurate and can be precisely tuned. Where as narrowband only knows the 3 states and adjusts accordingly.

    With regards to your turbo, you need a K04-020. Which is a non egt turbo. If you have your old turbo and can only get a k0s-022 or k04-023 then you can always just plug the egt hole with a bolt. It's cheaper to get yours reconditioned. Just don't buy a cheap chinese one.
    #14

Share This Page