1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

K03 to K03s upgrade

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by abdus, Aug 14, 2007.

  1. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    is it possible to use one from a VW engine?

    and from which car should I be looking for?

    Thanks
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    For FWD and not Quattro? (Apparently the quattro gearbox causes some clearance issues)

    If FWD then you can use the K03s off loads of things, VW, Audi, SEAT.

    The part number should contain 0052 0r 0053

    Go look on www.ukmkivs.net in the Mk4 tuning section for a K03-K03s writeup....
    #2
  4. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    Thanks Dave

    just registered there :)

    and it's for a FWD
    #3
  5. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    very difficult to source one though :(
    #4
  6. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    I found one on eBay for £150, then a week later Prawn got one with all the pipes for £150.

    Dead easy, they are all over the place....
    #5
  7. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    none atm...will keep an eye though :)
    #6
  8. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    what ahppens if the car is remapped, the turbo is upgraded, will it need remapping or the remap will adjust to the new upgrade?
    #7
  9. Bellic
    Offline

    Bellic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    will need remapping to get the best out of k03s
    #8
  10. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    no, I meant will it need remapping AGAIN(car is already mapped before turbo upgrade) when the turbo is upgraded?
    #9
  11. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    If its already remapped, the agressive settings on the current remap will make the K03s bring in more air and then cause the car to run lean, and hit limp mode, and backfire as it can't do anything with ignition timings.

    So yeah, as nikquatty says, it does need another remap.

    And it needs a proper custom remap too, as its a K03s and I'd imagine your car isnt a drive by wire?

    Remap is approx £500. The costs soon spiral out of control....
    #10
  12. Bellic
    Offline

    Bellic Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    yes if you want best from the upgrade, swapping with the map for k03 has made no difference so needs to be remmaped for the k03s
    #11
  13. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    engine is AGU, not DBW...

    BTW, can I fit the turbo myself? big job?
    #12
  14. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    Same thing as I just performed then.

    Yeah, you can do it yourself, theres a couple of times when another pair of hands is useful, but its perfectly possible to do the job yourself.

    Took me about 3 days as I wanted to do everything 100% and got coolant in my eye many, many times.

    You need the turbo, new TIP, remap, and a whole loads of gaskets and bolts. Plus new coolant and Oil.

    Although thats just for a basic swap, which is pointless really, you might as well do the FMIC and Downpipe whilst you're at it.

    Look at the ukmkivs thread...
    #13
  15. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    the FWD still really requires the downpipe completely removing and the driveshaft taking off to get the required room to remove the turbo in one motion.
    #14
  16. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    Thanks guys...will do some more reading...and see whether I can do it.

    Will keep you updated :)
    #15
  17. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    Dave, can you post the link to the K03-K03s thread please.


    Thanks
    #16
  18. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    #17
  19. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    :happy::thumbsup::applaus::superman::salute:
    #18
  20. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    #19
  21. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    Depends on the power figures you want to see.

    The standard downpipe is definately restrictive and it'd be a sensible thing to replace it with a 2.5" downpipe and sports cat, or if you're going all out, a 3" downpipe and decat.

    As for the FMIC, the FMIC simply cools the exhaust air from the turbo, so if you kept the standard one, the air would soon heat up, you'd be pushing 50 degree air into the intake, so the power would be down as the engine adjusted its ignition to compensate for the added heat.

    By using an uprated SMIC or a FMIC temperatures would stay lower for longer thus you could sustain maximum power for a lot longer.
    #20
  22. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    OK, thanks

    not in the budget right now to get the sports cat and FMIC, but definitely in the plans :D

    so I can still use the K03s until I uograde the downpiep and cat and PMIC...
    #21
  23. Dave_Bayern
    Offline

    Dave_Bayern Slipping at 3.5Krpm

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    Yes but the remap wouldnt then take advantage of it, and your current remap will make short work of your engine if you fit the K03s and drive it.

    So its best to do the K03s and downpipe, then get it mapped, the FMIC you can add later no worries.
    #22
  24. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 14, 2007]
    OK...

    so the option is here then...I'll start collecting all the parts and upgrade (maybe all at once) and get a custom remap....

    Thanks again...
    #23
  25. luis.filipe
    Offline

    luis.filipe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    Hi, this is very good info for me.

    My K03 died, and now its the time to get a new turbo :motz:

    I'll get a K03s instead of the stock K03, the remap will come latter as well
    as the fmic and the down pipe.

    Very good info that we can find on this forum.

    Thank you all.
    #24
  26. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    it's down to the people asking the questions...:moa::lmfao:
    #25
  27. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    and the others replying the questions and providing the very useful info....:hi::salute:
    #26
  28. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    can somebody post a tutorial on how to do it please.

    thanks

    regards
    #27
  29. Prawn
    Offline

    Prawn My other car is a MINI!!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Messages:
    9,597
    Likes Received:
    1,355
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    be very careful running the ko3S on a ko3 map, as for a given boost, the ko3S will be flowing a lot more air, and theres an obvious danger the car will run lean if you push it....
    #28
  30. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    somebody please posta tutorial and what is need to change the turbocharger...I mean gasket etc...

    want to get it done before the remap :D
    #29
  31. ChriS3
    Offline

    ChriS3 hud at ye bam

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    2,235
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 19, 2007]
    If you need a tutorial should you really be trying it?
    #30
  32. LaSarthe&Back
    Offline

    LaSarthe&Back Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 20, 2007]
    I see what your sayin, and it is a difficult job, but if everybody followed the "I ain't done one (turbo, cambelt, ARB) before, I don't want to screw it up so I'll get somone to do it" logic, nobody would DIY anything!

    Don't think there's a tutorial as such anywhere. Get a Haynes manual, and use your common sense. If you've got a good tool kit and more than one pair of hands, it's in you. You just gotta have the balls to take the jump!!

    Best of luck!
    #31
  33. abdus
    Offline

    abdus Top Gear VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    1,826
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 20, 2007]
    LOL I understand your point. I was just asking it for some more easiness....

    I've got a haynes and proper tools, just need to do it now...I'll take some pictures while doing it if possible. and post here. might help other members who want to have a go at it. ;)

    :)

    Thanks LaSarthe&Back :)
    #32

Share This Page