1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just sheared a dogbone bolt

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Tripp, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. Tripp
    Offline

    Tripp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    bit of a crisis - I have sheered off one of the bolts that connects to dogbone mount to the tranny whilst trying to replace the bushing.

    im probably going to take it to the garage to get the bolt removed and retapped but I thought id ask if im ok to drive whilst its only being held in place with one bolt now.

    annoyingly im up in leeds for xmas and my local garage is down in london.

    anyone know any good independant audi garages in leeds so I dont have to take it to a halfrauds.
    #1
  2. karl210
    Offline

    karl210 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    i did the same when i replaced mine a few weeks ago and its holding up fine so far
    #2
    Tripp likes this.
  3. Tripp
    Offline

    Tripp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    ur only on one bolt still?

    ive stopped work on the mount, dont want to risk shearing the other bolt removing it, so the bushing will have to wait for now
    #3
  4. karl210
    Offline

    karl210 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    yeah just 1 bolt tightened back up nicely and the other one got half tight and started to thread so i just left it in there like that
    #4
  5. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,221
    Likes Received:
    877
    The bolts do not sheer in the subframe, only in the mount.

    If you sheer both of them you can smash the mount free and undo the bolts with vise grips.
    #5
  6. karl210
    Offline

    karl210 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2012
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    3
    i think he means where it bolts to the gearbox. the 2 inline bolts
    #6
  7. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,221
    Likes Received:
    877
    He'd be doing well to sheer them, they're pretty big bolts. Fair play if he has.

    It's very common to sheer the ones in the subframe, because of the ally mount corroding onto the bolts.
    #7
  8. Tripp
    Offline

    Tripp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    You are correct, I have sheared the bolt connecting to the sub frame (the smaller ones, my mistake)

    As 16Klappe says I think it has sheared in the mount itself so I may attempt to remove the other bolt and grab the sheared bolt with vice grips.

    anyone know the type of bolt so I can buy a new pair to fit.

    cheers
    #8
  9. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,221
    Likes Received:
    877
    Mine are held in with driveshaft flange bolts, M8 thread.
    #9
  10. Tripp
    Offline

    Tripp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    ok cool, is there any particular length bolt I need? may actually ring local audi centre and see what they have
    #10
  11. 16Klappe
    Online

    16Klappe Princess Slayer

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,221
    Likes Received:
    877
    I would say 60mm ish.
    #11
  12. Eddie S3
    Offline

    Eddie S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    6
    I did the same to mine, blow torch and vice grips got it out for me
    #12
  13. Tripp
    Offline

    Tripp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    UPDATE: spent 3hours banging and spraying with penetrating grease and prying with a screwdriver (only thing narrow enough) today and finally removed the mount from the corroded bolt.

    annoyingly i was able to undo the rest of the bolt with my fingers - it was heavily rusted and I was worried the threads would be too damaged for the new bolt but its all installed and torqued up and everything seems good.

    I can feel the difference to responsiveness - yes there is a bit more idle vibration but I expect that to fade over the next few weeks.

    cheers all
    #13
  14. S3Zek
    Offline

    S3Zek Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2011
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    7
    This was mine.....was a right f***er....[​IMG][​IMG]
    #14
    S3_OL likes this.
  15. Tripp
    Offline

    Tripp Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    ^^ouch - that puts things into perspective...
    #15
  16. s3clarke
    Offline

    s3clarke Money grabbing s3!

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2012
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    35
    I did the same thing the other day tightening up the mount to the gearbox the front smaller bolt wouldn't tighten, took it back out and the good news was its threaded its self, so gotta re tap it now grrr. Thought it was going too good as it only took 15 minutes to do
    #16
  17. olibattman
    Offline

    olibattman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    11
    I just did the same thing... can anyone who had the same problem shed some light on where to get hold of the right bolts? Audi dealer best bet? or any garage?
    #17
  18. S3_OL
    Offline

    S3_OL Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    29
    Pretty sure they're only an M8 bolt, as long as its the right grade and length you can get them from any garage really, although from audi you will get the exact one
    .
    #18
  19. olibattman
    Offline

    olibattman Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    11
    OK thanks, i'll ring around tomorrow...
    #19

Share This Page