1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just remapped my car myself 140 bkd

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Mikemc, Apr 20, 2013.

  1. JJ.Foulds

    JJ.Foulds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,268
    Likes Received:
    176
    This is now a 'latest movies discussion' thread.
     
    Sevv likes this.
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Jackie Brown

    Jackie Brown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    Lol i forgot about this

    I'll double check the file on it again - 2.0 TDI 140hp


    yeah i ain't seen any films for a while (well, few weeks anyway). gotta see Rush!
     
  4. DarkBunny

    DarkBunny Active Member
    Team Sprint Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    111
    Why wouldn't you redline a diesel - if there's still power to be drawn from?
     
  5. Jackie Brown

    Jackie Brown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    If Turbo Diesel rev to 4000RPM, with redline from 4000RPM-4500RPM, I would only rev to 4000RPM.

    Just how I am in those cars.

    Even petrol turbo I change gear before redline - but different driving style I suppose.


    If car rev to 6800RPM (1.8T) I change by 6500RPM
     
  6. DarkBunny

    DarkBunny Active Member
    Team Sprint Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    111
    You're talking about the limiter then. I wouldn't take a car to the limiter, but will regularly hit the first 'red' point when going through gears...

    Though don't tend to do this regularly on the derv - but will from time to time.
     
    Jackie Brown likes this.
  7. Jackie Brown

    Jackie Brown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    You respect your engine this is good Mr Bunny
     
  8. sliced

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    320
    on a non mapped diesel its a bit pointless, theres no extra power towards redline, trust me ive bounced off many a limiters lol. just gets that spongey feeling.
     
  9. Jackie Brown

    Jackie Brown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    Some NM limiter in cars I tail off by 4200RPM and it goes back to standard power - so it gets boring up top and people change earlier.

    Hard to explain but nicer giving more power from 1000RPM (minimal increase) building up to max request around 2500RPM-3800RPM in most turbo diesel then start to tail off power between 3800RPM-4200RPM and leave alone.

    Unless its a car that revs to 5000RPM already - then I would start to tail off around 4800RPM, keeping the increased power within where it should be anyway.

    But yes - I know some people increase RPM and have high power up top in these cars too! Very crazy power! Which is cool - just scares me!
     
  10. captainshortlegs

    captainshortlegs New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    1
    so u have ritten a file into ur ecu from ebay not knowing if its safe or even if its kept the factory security ie alarm or even imobli program intact let alone the safe boost lev or limitors to a controlable value . hummmm sounds mint .
     
  11. Jackie Brown

    Jackie Brown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    Nah I looked ages ago but didn't have time to say much about it.

    They modified his original file - just can't remember where the email is to say by 'how' much. This was posted ages ago - I'd never heard of 'black smoke' or whatever until this was put up :)
     
  12. Tay

    Tay Active Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    54
    If your in Warrington, give Tuning Developments a call there just next to Birchwood Park. Had mine on their rollers when my mate organised a mini RR day and the rollers there seem very accurate.
     
  13. manor13

    manor13 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2013
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    109
    there's to many to chose from now. a few years back you had less choice with just a few companies offering 2.0tfsi maps at the time i opted for GIAC when most were camped in revo land , american fuel stratisfing thingy jig(cant remember the technical name for it, it will kill the engine buy giac and be dammned they dont understand euro/uk engines was the forum banter. my cars file was sent to the states at the time then 5hrs later they sent the maps back i bought two pump & race couldnt tell much diff between the two, but i started to wonder about my american map but it turned out a mate sent my vagcom logs to another big tuner who looked it over and they liked the map so my concerns were unfounded.
    I prefer a business where you can see before and afters where its proven results and you still have your orig map and it can be returned to normal again which seems to be missing now.
     
  14. Av4nt

    Av4nt Well-Known Member
    Team V10 Team Sprint quattro s tronic saloon Audi S6 Audi Sport Owner Group

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,507
    Likes Received:
    385
    indeed ovra3 .. I had a £400 diesel chip on my 140 and it brought the BHP to 181.. it never went wrong but I myself lasted 4 months before thinking it just doesnt feel safe and took it off before something destroyed something lol
     
  15. Jackie Brown

    Jackie Brown Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    22
    A remap is always 'safe' if you log engine.

    All Petrol Turbo cars I monitor with datalogging. He obviously doesn't mind because he is happy driving his car :)
     

Share This Page