1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Just had Sky + installed

jdp1962 Aug 23, 2004

  1. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    7,942
    2,363
    113
    So simple, so good, so why did I wait?
    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif
     
  2. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    9,833
    45
    38
    Because of the "money for old rope" £10/month additional subscription perhaps?
     
  3. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    7,942
    2,363
    113
    [ QUOTE ]
    AndyMac said:
    Because of the "money for old rope" £10/month additional subscription perhaps?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yeah, I guess you're right. Stil, it's in now, and it has hooked straight up to the existing distribution system to the rest of the house, so I can record & view digitally on four different TVs
     
  4. neil.c

    neil.c Senior

    567
    1
    18
    They knocked the £10 surcharge on the head more than a year ago so long as you subscribe to at least one premium channel. We have had it for ever it's great and you have been able to record two channels since before Christmas.

    200 notes for a hard disk recorder, bargain!
     
  5. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    7,942
    2,363
    113
    [ QUOTE ]
    AndyMac said:
    Jeff, can you still use your old box to give you a third viewing option?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Yes and no. The Sky+ box has two incoming signal feeds, so you can watch channel A & record channel B (or record both) at the same time, but you can still only send one signal out to the various TVs. If I want to watch 2 channels on different TVs at the same time, I can hook up the old box to one of the other TVs, but I then have to pay another £10 per month for a second subscription.

     
  6. AndybS3

    AndybS3 Member

    233
    0
    16
    The Sky+ is installed with a quad LNB so you could hook up two additional boxes, you pay £10 a month for each additional card but I think you can now get freeview cards for £20 from Sky if not yet they'll be out in October, also anyone thinking of getting Sky+ at the moment it may be better to wait as I have a new test box with a bigger hard drive and USB which should be out shortly after testing
     
  7. jdp1962

    jdp1962 Grumpy Old Moderator Staff Member Moderator Team V6 TFSI Owners Group Gold Supporter Team Tornado quattro Black Edition Audi S4 s tronic

    7,942
    2,363
    113
    The bigger hard drive (80 gig, I think) is available already on Ebay as an upgrade.
     
  8. AndybS3

    AndybS3 Member

    233
    0
    16
    Update, the new box will be available as an upgrade from October for £399 new subs will still receive the 40 gig box which I think you can add your own 250gig drive to
     
  9. AndybS3

    AndybS3 Member

    233
    0
    16
    [ QUOTE ]
    jdp1962 said:
    40 gig is more than enough for me. That's 20 hours of programmes. Apart from live sport, I don't watch 20 hours of TV in a week.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Same here Jeff, apart from the odd memorable football game I have nothing else saved and being a Hibernian supporter I have Hibs beating Celtic and Rangers last season and I don't think I'm going to have much more use for it for a long time
     

Share This Page