1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

just done a vagcom read :-(

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by audi-a6, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    as from my last topic, i had a couple of problems, so i bought a vagcom and done a read, this is what i got

    dtc05?
    17963 = boost pressure exceeded
    16502 = engine coolant temp sensor(is that why my temp gauge dont work?)
    17968 =
    Maximum Engine Speed Exceeded warrenty void (dont think i need to worrie about this one)
    17964 = Charge Pressure Control: Negative Deviation
    17978 = engine blocked by immobiliser (not worried about this one, as i think it was when i used a key that was not set to the car)


    so, where do i start, would you agree i need to buy, an n75 valve, maf, map sensor and coolant temp sensor?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. AR-rkon
    Offline

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,730
    Likes Received:
    83
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    See above, CTS would be the first trial. as i may have an effect on the others.

    though did you clear them then do a run? some of them may be very old and as such, you cant see the forest for the trees...
    #2
  4. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,723
    Likes Received:
    335
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    Do the CTS first.

    The boost pressure codes are probably due to a leak. First thing you should be doing before changing anything is to have the system pressure tested. No point changing parts until your sure what you've got is sound.

    The maximum engine speed thing means you've overrevved it at some point, ie downshifting to a gear that puts the engine over the rev limiter.
    #3
  5. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    where is the cts on these engines?

    a leak? but generally it holds boost fine, also not the dv as it done it with the old ones and i have just put bran new forge atmospheric dv's
    #4
  6. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    #5
  7. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 2, 2012]

    yeah did a run, the only one that did not come back up is, the engine speed one and the imobiliser one
    #6
  8. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    just did another run and just got code 17964 and 00532
    #7
  9. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 2, 2012]
    #8
  10. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 5, 2012]
    anyone?
    #9
  11. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,723
    Likes Received:
    335
    [Feb 5, 2012]
    I've told you what to do.

    Pressure test the engine.

    If your going to ignore the advice then why ask it in the first place?

    These engines are prone to boost leaks, and when they occur you get all the faults your experiencing.

    Alternatively, piss your money away randomly replacing parts without any sort of diagnostic process and stop asking us what to do.
    #10
  12. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 5, 2012]
    Okay, didn't mean to up set any one, all I was asking was were they the right parts!

    Any way, what's the easiest way to pressure test?

    And the reason I asked again was, I thought if I had a boost leak the problem would be there all the time, maybe not....
    #11
  13. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,723
    Likes Received:
    335
    [Feb 5, 2012]
    Buy a boost leak tester from ebay, and use it with a compressor to pressurise the inlet tract to say 1bar and see what happens.
    #12
  14. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 5, 2012]
    okay, thanks, just ordered one, will let you know the out come
    #13
  15. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 12, 2012]
    Finally got round to doing a boost leak test, but could not get the intake to pressurise, any ideas why? I put the tester on the intake (took off the maf) took the oil breather pipe off and blocked the little pipe that the breather was connected to, do I need to block the other end?
    #14
  16. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,723
    Likes Received:
    335
    [Feb 12, 2012]
    Nope, either not enough flow, or a huge leak.

    What were you using to pressurise the inlet? You ideally need a proper compressor with an air tank, a little tyre inflator wont push enough air fast enough to overcome leakdown, as air will naturally leak past the piston rings etc.

    If it was a proper compressor then let it fill the tank to 100psi then turn off the power, that way theres no compressor noise clattering away in the background, then start pumping the air in and listen round the engine to pinpoint the leak (ie hissing)
    #15
  17. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Feb 12, 2012]
    It helps to have the engine warm to reduce any pressure lost past the piston rings. I also used to have some weird issue where I would sometimes need to put my finger over the breather pipe until it had reached pressure.

    But Aragorn is spot on. Either you're not using a compressor, or you have a huge ass leak!

    ps. remember to take the oil filler cap off before you pressurise
    #16
  18. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 12, 2012]
    Well it can't be a big leak as generally the car drive fine, but I am just using a tyre compressor, but I would of thought it would still work a bit?
    #17
  19. Blue_Thunder
    Offline

    Blue_Thunder Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,709
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Feb 12, 2012]
    No, it won't, they simply don't flow enough. You might get away with using a petrol station tyre inflator.

    I did the same when I first bought a pressure tester and bought a tyre compressor that could "fully inflate an empty tyre in 2 minutes" (which I guess is total bull**** anyway!). You need a decent amount of air in there.
    #18
  20. audi-a6
    Offline

    audi-a6 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    494
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Feb 15, 2012]
    well thats justot typical lol well i think i will just get the garage to do it when they do my cambelt and thermostat
    #19

Share This Page