1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I've found my SKC with Vagtacho.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by danfloun, Apr 9, 2013.

  1. danfloun

    danfloun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just an update;
    I purchased a cheapo vagtacho off ebay for £20.
    I told it my ECU and it successfully connected to the ECU.
    However, it failed to read the pin (SKC). GUTTED!

    Instead, I selected the try any ecu button.
    Vagtacho connected to a few other ECU types but failed to read the pin still.
    Third attempt, Vagtacho give me the 4 digit pin number, but was it correct?

    Whoppeee!
    After entering it in the wrong area of Ross-Tech a few times, I finally read the manual and realised I needed to enter it into instrument module. The SKC was accepted (with an additional 0 added of course (0xxxx)).
    My car now drives after two weeks off road.

    So if you aren't getting anywhere with Vagtacho, play around and be patient.

    If anyones interested I used clusterrepairs.co.uk for my dash repair.
    They seem very professional and helpful. The dash hasn't been installed for more than a few days, but it seems to be okay.
    The lcd are a little distorted for some reason, but it was like that previous and it's not much. I was also told about this before they returned the unit and I said, whatever.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. gen.heinz guderian

    gen.heinz guderian Well-Known Member
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    125
    Glad you sorted it out.
     
  4. lloydie1

    lloydie1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    2
    Which Vagtacho did you buy, can you link to it? Need to recode some instruments myself, but couldnt get my version to work.
     
  5. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,390
    Likes Received:
    104
    So why did you need vagtacho? Is it due to you sending the clocks away for repair?
     
  6. danfloun

    danfloun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just a cheapo eBay (£20) job, version 3.01 of vagtacho I believe.
    I only got it for code retrieval. Have a look, there are plenty.
     
  7. danfloun

    danfloun Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    2
    When my dash went faulty it was intermittently turning on and off, in fact as I understand it this particular fault causes the processor in the dash to keep resetting. Eventually I think it corrupt the contents of the EEPROM, the outcome was an unstartable car.

    Cluster repairs reflashed the eeprom along with fixing the intermittent power issues.

    When i got the dash back, the keys needed to be re-registered with the car. Note: not caused by clusterrepairs, it lost its programming before i sent it off for repair.

    I needed the SKC code to do the key registration through Ross-tech.
    Hence, elcheapo vagtacho to recover the code from the ecu.
     
  8. Dani_B19

    Dani_B19 Audi-sports own special child.

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Messages:
    7,390
    Likes Received:
    104
    Argh thanks for that mate. Learn something new everyday.
     

Share This Page